1. Win a Broadcaster or one of 3 Teles! The annual Supporting Member Giveaway is on. To enter Click Here. To see all the prizes and full details Click Here. To view the thread about the giveaway Click Here.

Pro wrestling

Discussion in 'Bad Dog Cafe' started by Hatfield92, Jun 5, 2019.

1. Hatfield92

Hatfield92 Tele-Holic Silver Supporter

Confession: I’m a huge pro wrestling nerd. When I was nine, my family moved, and most of the kids in my new third grade class were rasslin’ fans. So I assimilated. And I’ve been a huge fan ever since.

That was 1983, and pro wrestling was just starting to experience a huge boom thanks to Hulk Hogan appearing in Rocky III, and Cyndi Lauper/MTV getting involved in WWF... “the rock and wrestling connection”.

I found myself more drawn to Mid Atlantic/NWA, which was (relatively) more realistic and less cartoonish than the WWF. The mid 80s was a seminal time for that stuff.

Nowadays, I get into WWE’s developmental brand, NXT... which is based here in FL. It features up-and-coming talent, and is arguably better than the company’s two “main” brands. NXT frequently runs house shows in the Tampa area, and front row seats can be had for 20 bucks. I’ve gone to a few of these and had a blast.

Any other current or former fans here on TDPRI?

Dan R and OlRedNeckHippy like this.
  2. don71

don71 Tele-Afflicted

I've enjoyed wrestling off and on for most of my life. I feel it should be viewed live, and up close, if you ever get a chance. There is a lot more to it, than meets the eye.

My early hero's were Bull Dog Bob Brown, Harley Race and Rufus R Jackson. Later on I liked the Harts and many others.

I watched this podcast with Steve Austion last week. If you want a peek into his career or experiences, check it out.

OlRedNeckHippy and Hatfield92 like this.
  3. william tele

william tele Doctor of Teleocity Ad Free Member

Harley Race lived in my old neighborhood...never saw him once.

Hatfield92 likes this.
  4. djh22