Price points and expectations!

Discussion in 'Acoustic Heaven' started by Telefan33, Oct 13, 2020.

1. Telefan33

Telefan33 Tele-Meister

I have been playing for twenty years. When I started you could expect to get a used USA Martin for around $500 or so. I'll admit times have changed and I'm still stuck at the under $1200 category.

Today's guitar choices:
    - under $500
    For under $500 you start to get solid top and usually that is to be expected. I'm thinking guitars like the Seagull S6. This is actually a pretty fun guitar as I would describe the guitars under and around $500.

- around $500
    At this point you start to get into all solid wood but not made in the USA. Im thinking Martin Dreadnought Junior. More standard expectations would be a Taylor Academy 10 solid top and laminate back and sides. This is a pretty nice guitar but I feel the Martin is best at this price point.

- over $500 and under $1000
    If you spend a little more money but still under $1000 you start to get pretty impressive competitors for guitars that sound twice sometimes many times the price. I'm thinking guitars like Blueridge that get really close to a Traditional sound.

- around $1200
    At this point you can expect all solid Mahogany top back and sides if you buy American. I'm thinking USA made Martin and Guilds. Another option would be the Yamaha made in Japan FG5. Solid Sitka Spruce top and solid Mahogany back and sides.

- $100-$200
    This is more of starter or campfire range where sometimes you get a solid top but many times not. This isn't a price point I would recommend anymore however I do think the Fender CC-60S is a good guitar so there are exceptions.

I don't own any high end stuff really so I would like someone to add to the list of expectations for guitars around $1500, 2K and beyond. I was thinking of using this as a buyer guide in my future as I'm interesting in higher end guitars.

2. DavidP

DavidP Friend of Leo's