1. Win a Broadcaster or one of 3 Teles! The annual Supporting Member Giveaway is on. To enter Click Here. To see all the prizes and full details Click Here. To view the thread about the giveaway Click Here.

Power tool safety

Discussion in 'Tele Home Depot' started by Dpalms, Nov 4, 2020.

1. Dpalms

Dpalms Tele-Meister

I'm not sure if this is allowed here, if not please remove the thread.

So I'm just getting into guitar building and wood working in general, I have a table saw and router so far. I'm having a blast building my guitar, but to be honest these 2 tools scare the $h*t outta me, I can only imagine the damage they can do to one's hands, arms, face, etc.

So my question is what are some absolute must safety tools I should buy or make for these 2 tools.
    And other advice for any other wood working tools is more than welcome, as I'd like to keep all 10 fingers.
    Thanks.

2. john_cribbin

john_cribbin Tele-Afflicted

If you're worried, you could consider the chain mail gloves butchers use.

Personally I'd start with eye and ear protection. Most power tools come with safety features that you need to make sure are in place and effective.

Where possible, use something like push sticks to feed wood past blades.

I used to use routers a lot in the past, potentially a scary piece of kit. More than once I had the power lead attack my legs while I was using it, so I'd say lay your cable in a way it won't foul up before you start. An easy access kill switch wouldn't be the worst thing to invest in, consider foot operated if you've got both hand on the router.

Don't be forced to play slide ....

3. glenlivet

glenlivet Tele-Afflicted

#1 is yourself.....keep your head in the game.
    Your brain should be your #1 safety device.
    If something doesn't feel 100% comfortable, or your not 110% sure....back off and re-examine what you are doing.
    Remember that these things cut solid wood like no ones business, they will not even slow down at a finger....