1. Win a Broadcaster or one of 3 Teles! The annual Supporting Member Giveaway is on. To enter Click Here. To see all the prizes and full details Click Here. To view the thread about the giveaway Click Here.

Power Amp Overdrive and Effect Pedals??

Discussion in 'Glowing Bottle Tube Amp Forum' started by Lancer X, Dec 1, 2020.

1. Lancer X

Lancer X TDPRI Member

Hi all!

Firstly, please bear with me - I am fairly new to tube amps.

I have a Fender PRRI. I love how it sounds when it starts to break up, but my family and neighbors would (understandably) never put up with that. (I measured 106 dB when it was sounding really sweet the other day.)

I have ordered a 50W MiniMASS attenuator from Weber in order to be able to run it at edge of breakup as the Gods of Rock and Blues intended.

However, the PR does not have an effects loop. I am concerned that some of my modulation- and time-based effects might sound weird due to the overdrive?? Can you offer any guidance - do I need to be concerned? At the moment, this is just a practice amp run at reasonable indoor volumes.

Bonus question: am I wasting my time and money with this attenuator? Should I just run a nice overdrive pedal (I have a Tumnus Deluxe which is quite tasty) and live with preamp overdrive only like a normal person??

Cali Dude likes this.
  2. Mexitele Blues

Mexitele Blues Tele-Afflicted

I wouldn't worry. The Gods of Rock and Blues have been running delays into dirty amps for as long as I've been alive. if you find that the sound is not your thing, there are attenuators with built-in fx loops.

Fiesta Red and Lancer X like this.
  3. Silverface

Silverface Poster Extraordinaire Platinum Supporter

I use a bunch of different commercial and boutique time based effects with my tube amps (analog delays, phasers, Leslie emulators, Fender tube reverb units and so on) - everything from a Champ to a '60 Showman, and most are blonde, brown, tweeds plus a few boutique amps and a '72 Princeton Reverb.