Poll; Your preferred tool for octal chassis holes

Discussion in 'Shock Brother's DIY Amps' started by magic smoke, May 3, 2018.

1. magic smoke

magic smoke Tele-Meister

For the last few builds I've found myself fabricating or modifying amp chassis to fit my needs. I'm now looking to invest in some quality tools specifically for making tube socket holes. I started using a step bit for everything up to 3/4" and I've used a few different brands of budget knockout punches, but they have all had shortcomings with durability or ease of use. I use Belton sockets exclusively, so only need the 1.25" punch.
    I'm experiencing a bit of sticker shock after seeing the price of the name brand!

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B002JAUIOM/?tag=tdpri-20

Remember I'm still a DIY builder not a production shop. Now I have to ask, What do you guys use? Anyone have experience with these, and are they worth it? Is there a better option?

Thanks in advance for your wisdom, experience and opinions!

2. BelairPlayer

BelairPlayer Tele-Afflicted

Greenlee punches are what I use. I don't remember paying that much, but then again, I've owned mine for over fifteen years. They're still in great shape. You know what they say, "buy the best and only cry once."

3. jimgchord

jimgchord Tele-Afflicted

I use two different step drills. I have a really nice one that goes up to 7/8, then I have a cheaper one I got off e-bay to handle the larger size socket holes. I drill everything with the good one then switch to the lesser one for that last little bit. Works great for me. But then again I only use aluminum chassis.

4. Snook

Snook Tele-Meister

Look for this one on ebay or amazon.... may be in the $70 range? Most of mine came from work and probably 30 years ago.... but I agree, the price on the one you posted startled me.... But I'm real cheap and most of mine are probaby an inch or less in diameter. They will last forever though, although you might break a drive bolt once in a while.