Plycaster - DIY laser cut plywood Esquire

Discussion in 'Tele Home Depot' started by JUSS10, Apr 17, 2019.

1. JUSS10

JUSS10 TDPRI Member

So I'm new to the forum, well, rather a long time lurker.

So many years ago a bought a custom neck from Warmoth for a guitar I had planned on building. Well, 5 years later I find the neck in the back of a closet and decided to give this a go. Now, I started with a more traditional build with an alder body blank. I'm a designer and work in R&D with a model shop. I decided to laser cut router templates to cut the body but then had a crazy idea. I had some thin plywood laying around thought I wonder what would happen if I would slice a tele body in to layers and glue it all up like a cake. I found a blueprint online and made a 3D cad model, sliced it in to 9 layers and then went ahead and laser cut 9 layers out of thin ply. I made it a chambered body to keep it light just for fun. Cool thing about it being in layers, I could add wire routing and holes to set depths just by tweaking each layer.

I went ahead and glued the 7 middle layers together then after that glued on the top and back. I sanded the edges up level out the layers. Being that this whole thing was just a trial, I decided to just sand the body up, fill some holes and just hit it with some primer and paint from the store. I 3D printed the neck shim and also 3D printed some router templates for the jack and control cavity.

I picked up a Bigsby B16 a while back and had some other spare parts laying around. Ended up stealing a neck from my american standard tele that I never loved. Finally got it all together. For a parts "plycaster", I'm really happy with how it turned out.

It started as a "I'm going to do it just because I can" but it actually turned out pretty great.

One quick question for anyone who has a B16, the strings slide around, can I cut a small groove with a file to set the string spacing? Would love some input.