Please help with amp decision-- Bordeaux Princeton or Bordeaux Deluxe Reverb

Discussion in 'Amp Central Station' started by CQLove, Jan 14, 2019.

1. CQLove

CQLove Tele-Meister

Hello good people! I am having such a hard time deciding between these two amps. Have been mulling it over for a few years. Wife is buying me one of these for my birthday in a couple weeks.

Bordeaux Deluxe Reverb https://www.sweetwater.com/store/de...-inch-tube-combo-amp-limited-edition-wine-red or

Bordeaux https://www.musiciansfriend.com/amp...ordeaux-reserve?rNtt=fender princeton&index=2

I am not a gigging musician and play mainly in my man cave room in my garage. Here is a video of where I play and my current setup.

Any input would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

2. neilshane

neilshane Tele-Meister

I'm far from an expert, but I have owned the regular reissue version of both of these amps. I'm not a gigging musician either. In my opinion, the Deluxe is far too loud for home use. I could not turn it past about 3 on the dial. It's a nice amp, it's just really loud.

The volume on the Princeton is more manageable, though for home use you'll need a good drive pedal if you want any distortion out of it.

3. thunderbyrd

thunderbyrd Poster Extraordinaire Silver Supporter

very nice tone on the videos! be extra nice to your wife and maybe she'll buy you both.

CQLove and t guitar floyd like this.
  4. charlie chitlin

charlie chitlin Doctor of Teleocity Silver Supporter

Bordeaux?
    I'm more of a Night Train Peavey guy.

CQLove likes this.
  5. backporchmusic

backporchmusic Friend of Leo's

For man cave jamming, I'd say Princeton. You may be able to get it into slight breakup territory without annoying the neighbors. And that is great territory to be in.

If you play only clean, clean, clean, maybe get the DR.

Telebeestar and CQLove like this.
  6. OlRedNeckHippy

OlRedNeckHippy Friend of Leo's