1. Win a Broadcaster or one of 3 Teles! The annual Supporting Member Giveaway is on. To enter Click Here. To see all the prizes and full details Click Here. To view the thread about the giveaway Click Here.

Please help a router newbie

Discussion in 'The DIY Tool Shed' started by rdwhitti, Dec 15, 2018.

1. rdwhitti

rdwhitti Tele-Holic

Hi, I am new to woodworking as some of you know from my other threads. I took an intro class a while back at Woodcraft and got the bug, and have been trying to outfit my small space since then. For the router I got a Bosch benchtop cabinet router table and a Bosch 1617 router. I ordered the basic Whiteside 401 router bit set to get me started. I also got the Kreg router table setup bars to make things easy. All is well so far.

Anyway today I setup the router and table and installed a 1/4” straight bit to try it out. I was just cutting some soft pine scrap so of course there were no issues getting through it. The cuts were very smooth and clean as expected. However when I checked the width and depth of the cuts they seemed somewhat off. The 1/4” wide groove is very tight according to the Kreg bar and is somewhat shy in depth. When I setup the height I set it to slightly over 1/4”, but yet the groove depth seems to be shy of 1/4” which is strange, unless that is just the way it is.