1. Win a Broadcaster or one of 3 Teles! The annual Supporting Member Giveaway is on. To enter Click Here. To see all the prizes and full details Click Here. To view the thread about the giveaway Click Here.

playing

Discussion in 'Tab, Tips, Theory and Technique' started by jdolecek48, Jul 28, 2020.

1. jdolecek48

jdolecek48 Tele-Meister

I have been playing for 30 years but only in drop D but now for the first time i feel lost, i have never played any standard tuning...but i get so jealous when i watch a youtube video because in the first 5 seconds they play a 5 sec intro and those 5 seconds are simple but what they play sounds killer but i cant play a simple killer riff like that. I know the basics to the penatonic minor scale but have no idea about notes but i do know a little penatonic scale likeon frets 3 and 5...who knows what notes of keys hose are...i just want to write my on stuff and jam out whether its blues or hard rock...i have no patience that my problem, i can play right with technique and all that but i hav4 spent my entire life just playing good but only in power chords but that is all i know....i just wanna jam out ya know?

2. Wally

Wally Telefied Ad Free Member

There are reasons why the ‘standard’ tuning intervals are what they are. These intervals allow for maximum facility in playing chords and scales. Alternative tunings allow for other advantages.
    I suggest raising that low string up to standard tuning and begin playing in that tuning.

P Thought, AxemanVR and PhredE like this.
  3. Digital Larry

Digital Larry Friend of Leo's Gold Supporter