1. Win a Broadcaster or one of 3 Teles! The annual Supporting Member Giveaway is on. To enter Click Here. To see all the prizes and full details Click Here. To view the thread about the giveaway Click Here.

Playing technique: hating the plectrum

Discussion in 'Tab, Tips, Theory and Technique' started by Omag, May 28, 2011.

1. Omag

Omag TDPRI Member

Hi everybody... i've been messing around with guitars for a good 1,5 years now and loving it every bit of the way, though I'm no where near as good as I would like to be. But that doesn't stop me.

Anyway, since the beginning I've been trying to use plectrums in various thicknisses. But no matter what, I still have a lot more control over my playing by just using my fingernails, so no plectrum.

i'm fearing this will be handicapping my abilities later on, but I was wondering if any of you have the same problem or just play without plectrum too.

I do like plectrums when it comes to more solo-like licks, but (power)chords and barrés... nono... lol

Plus, using my fingers seems to make my tele twang more...

Your opinions?

Last edited: May 28, 2011
  2. ac15

ac15 Poster Extraordinaire Ad Free Member

I spent a lot of years playing fingerstyle guitar after starting out with a pick. When I ended up using a flatpick again, I found it awkward and limited, so my solution was to use the thumbpick pictured in the link below. This allows me to swith effortlessly between flatpicking and fingerstyle at any point. I recommend trying this type of pick.

http://www.elderly.com/accessories/items/HE114.htm

3. voodoostation

voodoostation Friend of Leo's

Never seemed to limit Mark Knopfler, or countless other guitar players out there. If you don't like playing with picks, then don't. I'd say its pretty split here on the forums. Personally, I play about 50/50. Just a matter of preference, style or sound you're aiming for.

4. Ptrallan01

Ptrallan01 Tele-Holic