Played a Fender Professional Tele-blew me away unplugged

Discussion in 'Telecaster Discussion Forum' started by fred4321, Aug 19, 2019.

1. fred4321

fred4321 Tele-Meister

Hi,

I'm trying to unwind what is it I experienced. I am not very technical re guitars.

I went to my favorite guitar shop to buy strings. Naturally had a look at the Teles and I picked up a maple neck American Pro Tele on display and had a play unplugged. Had a look as it was in my affordability bracket.

It was fantastic. Easy neck, fast and really comfortable. Didn't bother to plug it in, it was the play-ability that felt really natural. Had a hold of other Pros and much the same.

I went home and played my MIM Standard Tele (which is great) and now it feels less 'natural and easy' after playing the Pro.

Trying to work out why I'm now scheming to get hold of one.

2. dreamingtele

dreamingtele Friend of Leo's

Maybe the set up was nicer on the Pro.. have you got your MIM standard set up? or done by a pro?

it could be a combination of things.. I had an american pro and the set up could be better out of the box, but once dialed in, it felt home, and the same as my other teles..

3. Nick Fanis

Nick Fanis Poster Extraordinaire Ad Free Member

Get a good set up and you will be fine.
    There is no inherent "general playability" in guitars.
    Unless the particular neck has the specs that YOU like.

4. fred4321

fred4321 Tele-Meister

Maybe that's it

5. rze99

rze99 Poster Extraordinaire

New strings decent set up a neck profile that’s right for you would do it. Some necks can feel instantly nicer than others that’s for sure.

BramptonRob1958 and 8barlouie like this.
  6. EsquireBoy

EsquireBoy Tele-Meister

Love at first sight: run make a trade with your MIM, otherwise you may very well spend the next couple of years trying to find back a guitar that « speaks » to you as much as this one does.

7. tfarny

tfarny Friend of Leo's