Planning my 5F2A Princeton w solid state rectifer bridge

Discussion in 'Shock Brother's DIY Amps' started by quyda, Nov 30, 2019.

1. quyda

quyda TDPRI Member

Hi,

I'm a complete newbie and am planning my 5F2A Princeton, with solid state Rectifer bridge and custom build transformers, I have a few questions
    1a. What rectifier style should I use, Half wave, Full wave? Each style will raise B+ differntly right? How to calculate voltage raise for each style?
    1b. Will diode 600V3A suffice?
    2. What PT high voltage/current should I select? What current? do I need Center tap?
    3. Going SS Rectifier also means that I can eliminate 5V filament, (just order high voltage + 6.3V) right?
    4. Since its custom build I can choose 6.3V filament or 6.3V CT (3.15-0-315), What current? which should I choose and why does Filament Center Tap help eliminate hum?
    5. Since I can order choke pretty cheaply as well, should I order & install one?
    6. Output tranny is 5K & 5W right?

Thank you,
    Quy
    tube solid state rectifiers.gif

2. Paul-T

Paul-T Tele-Meister

The drawings do show the arrangement you need. You would only use a bridge rectifier if you have a single secondary, as on the top right. Half wave, top left, is pointless. If you have dual secondaries (centre tap), it's the bottom left arrangement. Full wave might save you money, if you find a cheaper single secondary transformer, otherwise there's no functional difference.

Voltage drop on the typical IN4007 is only, iirc, 0.3v. I used 275-0-275 for my Princeton, I suspect 330 will be very high without a voltage drop from the rectifier and you will need to look for something lower. It should be a simple 1.4 multiplcation to get the B+ I think but others more experienced will chip in. 2A would be typical capacity for the heater.

tl;dr Select the B+ you want, it affects the sound, some like to go higher, some lower, then it's fairly simple from there.