1. Win a Broadcaster or one of 3 Teles! The annual Supporting Member Giveaway is on. To enter Click Here. To see all the prizes and full details Click Here. To view the thread about the giveaway Click Here.

planning first build - a few questions

Discussion in 'Tele Home Depot' started by Tpoirier, Oct 6, 2020.

1. Tpoirier

Tpoirier TDPRI Member

I've been slowly formulating a plan for my first build and am planning a tele style. I have some nice spalted maple I am going to use for the top and have been thinking about a burnt pine body. Some questions I have:

1 - I want to get a very traditional tele sound. What's a good, relatively inexpensive set of pickups for a traditional tele twang? I'm not a working musician, it doesn't have to sound perfect - this is as much about building a guitar as it is having a good guitar to play.

2 - I'm considering adding a third pickup, probably a P90. Would the routing for a 3rd pickup detrimentally affect the tele sound?

3 - I have access to old redwood beams from a barn. I couldn't even hazard a guess how redwood would impact the guitar. My gut is telling me it's not dense enough. Thoughts?

4 - As an amateur woodworker with a good selection of tools who's never attempted anything like it - should I attempt to make my own neck or not?

Thanks in advance!

2. mefgames

mefgames Friend of Leo's Double Platinum Supporter

1. Keystones
    2. DON'T !!!
    3. Redwood is sometimes a bit too soft, IMO
    4. Neck building can be tricky, but very rewarding. Jigs are a big help, especially for the truss rod slot.I use a 2 way truss rod. I find it much easier than the original. Test build from scrap first. If you have an oscillating sander, it will make it easier.

burtf51 likes this.
  3. Freeman Keller

Freeman Keller Poster Extraordinaire

1 - You'll get lots of comments. Everyone will recommend their favorite pups. They are correct
    2 - the route won't hurt. Its a bit more trouble to wire