Pickup soldering help please

Discussion in 'Just Pickups' started by Coryd, Oct 15, 2019.

1. Coryd

Coryd TDPRI Member

I'm a total noob at soldering/installing pickups, switches, etc.
    I thought i would be able to change the 3 way switch easily however on the G&L ASAT Deluxe. (2 red wires for the bridge and neck, and 1 white wire) I went to my local music store and bought a new switch and decided to try this weekend. I'm running into issues I would like to see if someone here can help me with. I wired it the way the guy at the local shop said to, but i still need to wire the ground from the switch to the back of a pot (what the local guy suggested) I plugged it in just to see if i could get sound and i do but it is really quiet. Is this because i don't have it grounded? I've attached some pics to show my work. Have i incorrectly soldered the switch?

Attached Files:

2. boredguy6060

boredguy6060 Friend of Leo's

Without seeing a schematic or diagram for the switch my guess is the red wires are signal wires from each pickup and the white wire is the output wire that goes to the input of the volume control. The switch MAY ground to where it is installed. You may have to tighten it down for it to get a good ground, which will increase volume.
    Good luck,

3. Art VanDelay

Art VanDelay Tele-Afflicted

4. Coryd

Coryd TDPRI Member

5. Deaf Eddie

Deaf Eddie Friend of Leo's

With the symptom you describe and your picture, it looks to me as though you have connected the white lead (your hot to volume) on the FAT ground tab of that switch.

I assume the switch you have doesn't quite match the representation in the S-D drawing - and there's no reason to have two ground tabs. I see the two tabs on the OTHER side of the switch, which is where I believe the white hot lead should go.