1. Win a Broadcaster or one of 3 Teles! The annual Supporting Member Giveaway is on. To enter Click Here. To see all the prizes and full details Click Here. To view the thread about the giveaway Click Here.

Picks: no more just one more

Discussion in 'Bad Dog Cafe' started by P Thought, Jul 17, 2018.

1. P Thought

P Thought Doctor of Teleocity Ad Free Member

A Red Bear here, a Blue Chip there. . .I've been acquiring exotic picks one or two at a time for several years now. I keep them in this old piggy bank I've had since I was a kid:

Bank.jpg

The other day the piggy-bank fell off its perch and spilled out its contents:

collection.jpg

I think perhaps this has gone far enough. I hope I can stop without formal rehab intervention. Not counting the few picks that are with guitars in their cases, but including the ones in the strings in the guitars hanging on the walls and the one I keep on my key ring, here's an inventory:

14 Red Bears; 7 V-Picks; 9 miscellaneous Dunlops; 5 Blue Chips; 5 John Pearse Fast Tortoise; 3 Dugains; 5 Graph Tech Tusqs; 4 Wegens; 5 SurfPicks; 4 Pro-Pleks; 2 Hell Picks; 13 miscellaneous nylon, celluloid, and plastic picks; 4 handmade wooden picks from my son; an agate pick, a Bob Colosi ivory pick; a real tortoise pick; a stainless-steel pick; a bakelite pick from a 78rpm record; a "Dawg" pick; a finger pick; and a Recording King thumb pick (those last two I don't use).

I've used these pick acquisitions as a buffer against GAS: buying expensive guitars would damage my finances, but I can afford an occasional expensive pick. I have ten guitars, all good quality but of fairly modest pedigree, and I keep a pick tucked in the strings of each one, rotating picks into the lineup from the piggy bank. Most of the picks in the bank get used at least occasionally, although of course I have my favorites.