People who sit while you practice - what do you sit on? Pics appreciated.

Do you stand or sit while playing, or both?

• I only stand (95% or more).

Votes: 13 9.5%
  • I only sit (95% or more).

Votes: 42 30.7%
  • I mostly stand, sometimes sit.

Votes: 19 13.9%
  • I mostly sit, sometimes stand.

Votes: 62 45.3%
  • I'm just here for free food.

Votes: 7 5.1%
  • I thought we were talking about potting soil.

Votes: 2 1.5%

• Total voters

Dismalhead

Poster Extraordinaire
Hey people,

I've been standing while I play 100% of the time for 35 years; gotten to the point where sitting and playing feels very alien. Now I've got foot problems (neuroma in each foot) and am thinking I need to start sitting again. Also, I want to make some YouTube videos and I think the sitting videos come across better than the ones where people stand.

So, I'm looking around and trying to figure out what kind of stool to get. Tons of options. I know I want something with back support, but other than that I'm not sure. My bass player friend just spent about a hundred bucks on a stool; looks very cool, comfy, but no back support.

I know most people sit for at least a large part of their playing and I'm kinda weird for sticking to standing, so show us what you be sitting on, and whether it's what you think is best for playing. Doesn't have to be a stool, could just be a couch.

Thanks!

Last edited:

985plowboy

Poster Extraordinaire
I stand to perform.
I sit in a chair in front of a music stand with either charts or my iPad to practice.
I am mostly an acoustic player so I’m fairly mobile.
If I’m just playing for fun, anywhere in the house is game.
Edge of the bed, edge of the tub, in the hallway with all the doors closed.
Different rooms give different sounds.

David Meiland

Tele-Meister
Silver Supporter