1. Win a Broadcaster or one of 3 Teles! The annual Supporting Member Giveaway is on. To enter Click Here. To see all the prizes and full details Click Here. To view the thread about the giveaway Click Here.

#pennypincher 5e3p 'X' -- first timer; amalgamated "kit"... DIY info

Discussion in 'Shock Brother's DIY Amps' started by ecoast, Mar 1, 2017.

  1. ecoast

    ecoast Tele-Holic

    Posts:
    839
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2017
    Location:
    NWNJ
    swapped out volume pot; now fully operational

    also, the 'wooooshhh' noise went away as well



    looked through my tubes and put a 12at7; made a nice difference
    lot of fun; so touch sensitive!

    continuing on cabinet; have to change grill cloth on the one I'm matching:

     
    robrob and D'tar like this.
  2. 24 track

    24 track Doctor of Teleocity Silver Supporter

    Posts:
    16,473
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2014
    Location:
    kamloops bc
    Nice work!
     
  3. D'tar

    D'tar Friend of Leo's

    Posts:
    3,074
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2013
    Location:
    WNY
    Great job! Did you keep track of your shoestring budget? I like the alligator tolex:cool:
     
  4. BluesBlooded

    BluesBlooded Friend of Leo's

    Posts:
    3,618
    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2012
    Location:
    Sherbrooke, Qc, Canada
    Looking great!
     
  5. ecoast

    ecoast Tele-Holic

    Posts:
    839
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2017
    Location:
    NWNJ
    yessir; synopsis to follow!

    must....resist...urge....to ......build




    ........'NOTHER TUBE AMP!
     
  6. D'tar

    D'tar Friend of Leo's

    Posts:
    3,074
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2013
    Location:
    WNY
    Ha! Good luck with that!
     
    kleydejong likes this.
  7. arcticbreaze

    arcticbreaze Tele-Meister

    Posts:
    123
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2014
    Location:
    Oamaru NZ
    That amp looks feckin HOT, good work. But....... you should have read the warning labels "amp building IS addictive and may endanger your wallet":D
     
  8. Xingshen71

    Xingshen71 TDPRI Member

    Posts:
    98
    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2014
    Location:
    AZ
    Nice Build and Cool Thread!
    Looks Great!
     
    ecoast likes this.
  9. ecoast

    ecoast Tele-Holic

    Posts:
    839
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2017
    Location:
    NWNJ
    really enjoying it so far; I think it'll be loud enough with 6v6/large x-formers to keep up with acoustic drum set; we'll see Thursday.
    I just got some 5881wxt so I'll roll them in later; maybe does a bias check?!?!

    definitely want to attenuate volume; or rather, get more control

    I'm thinking @robrob 's master volume, but what would give me more useable volume control range?

    also thinking fixed bias/cathode w/switch while I'm in there.



    So far

    cab wood $18
    baffle ~$0~ plywood on hand
    black paint on hand
    adhesive on hand
    grill cloth (for both; changing existing) both will be tan; was $12 (1/2 is $6) shipped for 2pc. 24" x 24" ebay
    handle; brown stitched type, $10 shipped ebay
    8 chrome corners $6.06 shipped amazon(add on item)

    MIC eBay kit; w/tubes $132
    misc hardware, screws, bolts, finish washers $10
    tolex glue $10
    speaker $35
    wber x-formers ~$100 shipped
    $6 labels for labelmaker; controls

    $333.06 +/-
    best I could do; am I forgetting anything?


    worth every penny
     
    BluesBlooded likes this.
  10. ecoast

    ecoast Tele-Holic

    Posts:
    839
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2017
    Location:
    NWNJ
    ok; tonight with the band/acoustic drums

    can't wait; 5881's are sounding DELICIOUS
     
  11. ecoast

    ecoast Tele-Holic

    Posts:
    839
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2017
    Location:
    NWNJ
    so that was a couple days ago; and, boy, WAS IT LOUD!
    --I should have brought the 6v6's w/me to swap out!
    Whereas they are ALWAYS telling me to turn up, well now it was turn DOWN!

    Bwahahahahahahaha!


    so today, I put the first change in; https://robrobinette.com/5e3_Modifications.htm#Add_Master_Volume

    ...and I love it! I wish there was a 'donate' button on his site; my gosh what a resource for a newb like me!

    Added some labels, too; old P-touch w/ $5 cartridge:
     
    robrob likes this.
  12. ecoast

    ecoast Tele-Holic

    Posts:
    839
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2017
    Location:
    NWNJ
  13. robrob

    robrob Poster Extraordinaire Ad Free Member

    Posts:
    7,963
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2012
    Location:
    United States
    That is a sweet looking amp, congrats. I may have to look into adding one of those "Donate" buttons you speak of.

    Just kidding. I do it for the love of the game.
     
    Commodore 64 and ecoast like this.
  14. ecoast

    ecoast Tele-Holic

    Posts:
    839
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2017
    Location:
    NWNJ
    well you're a good fella for it!
    I can only imagine the traffic/bandwith use especially with all the other interesting (read: exhaustingly THOROUGH) sub-sites; I have seen similar that do have an option to donate, and I for one, generally do-- the amount of time you save me from having to scour for the info is WELL worth couple bucks sent PP...fwiw, imho, ymmv, etc.
     
  15. ecoast

    ecoast Tele-Holic

    Posts:
    839
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2017
    Location:
    NWNJ
    So today was bit of a 'swing and a miss'; I wanted to do both a 3 way impedance and also 3-way FB switch, but I did not have the right switch for the speaker selector.

    I wanted to use a mini toggle, and wasn't thinking; as Mr. Robinette's diagram "looks" like a DPDT, but if one is not using a rotary selector, you need a SP3T on/on/on, and use this diagram:

    *note jumper


    So whilst I had it to bits (again) decided to mount an IEC; I have a 15' cord in my gig bag, and it's just easier as I am all over.

    So three quick cuts with Mr. Angry, and then bent out the flap with pliers:



    mark & drill a couple holes, shoot a couple self-tappers, and Bob's your uncle...

     
  16. ecoast

    ecoast Tele-Holic

    Posts:
    839
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2017
    Location:
    NWNJ
    as far as the 3-way FB switch; it works; I like it but- a couple of times, it made the loud screech, and also a low, oscillating tone, but only at high volume in the switch position #1; furthest from 'normal'...


    does this mean it's out of phase?

    I played it for better part of an hour; did not happen UNLESS I walked back over and dimed it, and even then only in that one switch position.


    would it not screech & howl in all three positions if out of phase?
     
  17. robrob

    robrob Poster Extraordinaire Ad Free Member

    Posts:
    7,963
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2012
    Location:
    United States
    The 5F6A's 47pF snubber cap across the phase inverter plates does a pretty good job of stopping a lot of oscillation so you are may be out of phase. I would try reversing the output transformer primaries on the power tubes.
     
    ecoast likes this.
  18. ecoast

    ecoast Tele-Holic

    Posts:
    839
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2017
    Location:
    NWNJ
    10-4; wildu
     
  19. ecoast

    ecoast Tele-Holic

    Posts:
    839
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2017
    Location:
    NWNJ
    Happily; after swapping primary wires to V3/V4 pin 3, all is as expected, no more screech/howl, and wow, what a useful function!

    Most attenuation, but I can easily go BIG blackface clean in 1st FB position by swapping in 5881 & 5V4; BIG difference.


    middle FB position is pretty much as Monsieur Robinette describes; good compromise, a little volume attenuation, and takes pedals--tighter bottom, for certain

    3rd position is un-altered 5E3; more gain, louder, more bottom 'flub'


    waiting on switch to do 4/8/16 select; that's a definite mod.


    also have the resistors to do 3-way cathode bias; currently running upgrade 250/10w bias resistor and numbers are all pretty good with either 6c6/5881, so not sure I'm going to bother...anybody care to comment?





    .
     
IMPORTANT: Treat everyone here with respect, no matter how difficult!
No sex, drug, political, religion or hate discussion permitted here.