1. Win a Broadcaster or one of 3 Teles! The annual Supporting Member Giveaway is on. To enter Click Here. To see all the prizes and full details Click Here. To view the thread about the giveaway Click Here.

Pedals buffered bypass

Discussion in 'The Stomp Box' started by golfnut, Nov 13, 2020.

1. golfnut

golfnut Friend of Leo's

For the past 20 years or so I've had mostly true bypass pedals on my board but I'm going to put a small board together that consists of 5 pedals, one true bypass and the other 4 buffered.
    Just wondering if this is going to mess a lot with the amps tone in a bad way.
    This is what I'm contemplating from first to last.

1. Cali76CD - buffered
    2. Kingsley Page - true bypass
    3. Boss BD-2w - buffered
    4. Boss DM-2w buffered
    5. Boss CE-2w buffered

2. naveed211

naveed211 Tele-Afflicted

I’m not an expert, but from what I understand I think buffered pedals can color your tone, it’s just that a buffer at the end will ensure that the length of cable run at the end is not also a factor in degrading high end.

I’d expect there to be some effect on your tone with that lineup. How drastic? Don’t know. Probably not terrible, those are all modern and not cheap pedals.

Last edited: Nov 13, 2020
  3. MilwMark

MilwMark Doctor of Teleocity Ad Free Member

It is relatively unconventional to put the chorus after delay. And somewhat unconventional (though less so) to put it after distortion. Those will "impact" the tone of each when on more than whether they are buffered or not. These placements are not "wrong" and might sound right and do the things you need, for you.

The Waza buffers are excellent and transparent. Can't speak to the Cali but at that price I hope to heck it is as well.

If you are used to an all TBP chain you are probably accustomed to lots of high end roll off and a slight loss of dynamics.

So a buffered board will sound and feel different.