Pedal Switchers. Use Them? Which are the Best?

arlum

Friend of Leo's
Platinum Supporter
I've never owned a pedal switcher control floor board. I've seen their use grow quite a bit over the last ten years or so but know next to nothing about them. Because some of my pedal boards have become quite expansive and floor space is at a premium I've been considering purchasing one of these. The Voodoo Lab PX8. One of the Boss MS series. Electro Harmonix Super Switcher. Disaster Area DPZ-8EZ gen3. One Control OC10. Carl Martin Octa-Switch mk.3. Rocktron PatchMate Loop 8. G-Lab GSC-3. Etc., Etc.
I've got zero experience with these. I understand they can add and delete pedals on the board from the chain. My choice, should I choose to purchase one would be based on 3 factors. 1). The quality of the product. Built to last. Excellent reviews. No hidden hassles to contend with. 2). No one from the audience to the sound guy to other players and most importantly your own ears knows the switcher board is controlling the chain. No coloration of tone. No increase in back round noise. Like the switcher board doesn't exist to anyone except the player. 3). At least four selections. Six would be better but not really required. More than six would be a waste.
Do they make switcher boards that are truly invisible? If not ..... I want nothing to do with them. I like the short cuts they provide but would be unwilling to give up one ounce of tone to incorporate them into my rig. I've gone this long without them. I just thought I'd ask.

Back at it

Tele-Meister
You could check that pedal show, they might have a video

esp since one of the guys is involved with gigrig

northernguitar

Poster Extraordinaire
There seems to be more available these days. I got mine from Loop-Master, but I can’t recommend him at present…there have been a few threads about him not meeting orders. If he’s back in business, I can say that his work is impeccable and my 7-channel switch works great.