1. Win a Broadcaster or one of 3 Teles! The annual Supporting Member Giveaway is on. To enter Click Here. To see all the prizes and full details Click Here. To view the thread about the giveaway Click Here.

Peavey Classic 20 Combo

Discussion in 'Amp Central Station' started by frettchen, Nov 11, 2020.

1. frettchen

frettchen TDPRI Member

Hi!
    I have the chance to buy an old Peavey Classic 20 combo amp (the one with 10" speaker).
    In the past I tried it once, and I remember I had a good impression, but many years has passed since, and I was a beginner with the guitar at that time.
    The price is around 320 euros, and it seems to be in very good condition.
    Anyone has any experionce to share about this amp? What do you think about it? There aren't much of them in the used market, in my opinion..
    I used to play a Tele and a Strat, and I like clean or slightly overdriven sound.
    In particular, I am interested in its behaviour in home use (low volume level).
    Thank you in advance!

uriah1 likes this.
  2. DougM

DougM Poster Extraordinaire

I had one and I loved it. I only replaced it with the 30 because the 30 had enough power to gig and had reverb
    I think they are overpriced now though, because they were only $220 when new

frettchen likes this.
  3. tubelectron

tubelectron Tele-Afflicted

Hi @frettchen,

I had some of them for service / repair in the past. AFAIK, nothing major than routine operation, except for 2 points :

1 - EL84 tubes tend to vibrate and make some distinctive noise. This is due to their mounting. The Classic 30 and Blues Classic had the same issue (same kind of mounting / chassis). The partial solution is to try to damp the tubes against vibration as best (Peavey did this also), but the noise always remains more or less. This can be sometimes a problem at home loudness...