1. Win a Broadcaster or one of 3 Teles! The annual Supporting Member Giveaway is on. To enter Click Here. To see all the prizes and full details Click Here. To view the thread about the giveaway Click Here.

Pearly Gates + ? ? for HSS Strat

Discussion in 'Just Pickups' started by Luke1026, Mar 29, 2021.

1. Luke1026

Luke1026 Tele-Meister

So I’m converting a Strat Pro HH Shawbucker into an HSS with an SD Pearly Gates HB in the bridge position along with two single coils that have not yet been determined.

This will be my first HSS as I have no previous experience with this pickup combination. Consequently, I’ve started this thread to ask for opinions from those who do have experience with pickup matching using a Humbucker with 2 single coils.

I could use one of the Shawbuckers or even an Onamac Top Shelf (7.4k), but I think the Pearly Gates HB (7.2k) in the Bridge is the best of the three. I wasn’t planning on coil splitting the HB.

The single coil pickups available to me for this project include:

Fender Original 57/62 Set - 5.6k ea.
    Fender Custom Shop ’69 Set - 5.25k ea.
    Fender Ltd. Ed. Pure Vintage ’54 x 2 Sets - 5.85k or 5.95k
    Fralin Blues Special Twin Blade Set - 4.83k + 5.67k
    Dave Vidal Custom Hot Re-wound EJ Set - 8.2k + 8.7k

I have a variety of pots: 200k, 300k, 400k, 500, 1Meg, including Audio Taper, Linear, some with DPDT switches, and several no-loads. My thought at this point was to connect the Neck and Middle p'ups to one 250k no-load tone pot and the PG to a 500k tone pot. I’m not sure about what volume pot value to use.

The pedals currently on my board include:

Durham Sex Drive
    EP Booster
    KOT v4 with extra gain
    Wampler Tumnus (NPD – today)
    Neunaber Wet Reverb
    Boss CE-2 Chorus
    On-board Amp Delay
    On-board Amp Compression