Paying Bills

Discussion in 'Bad Dog Cafe' started by DekeDog, Oct 1, 2019.

1. DekeDog

DekeDog Tele-Meister

How many of you are old school and pay bills by writing checks and sending them through the post office, and how many use automatic bank draft? I still write checks, pay bills on the 1st and 15th of every month and balance my checkbook before I pay bills at the first of the month. That's the way I've been doing it for 45 years.

How many of you carry cash, and how many use only bank/credit cards for all of your transactions? How many pay in cash at the gas station? I remember when banks were pushing cards and saying how much faster it was to use them. They must have been kidding.

I've heard that many young people today don't even know how to fill out a check, or even how to write in cursive. Is that true? Have I become an anachronism? Do I need to ask you to step off of my lawn?

2. davenumber2

davenumber2 Friend of Leo's

I use my online bill pay through my bank to schedule bills. Sending checks out in the mail is a waste of my time and of my money on stamps. I am old enough to know how to write a check. 99% of the time I use a debit card. Nothing worse than standing behind someone at the grocery store and they pull out their checkbook. As for gas, paying at the pump is way faster than waiting in line to pay inside and most places make you prepay these days to avoid drive-offs.

Also, why do we need cursive? Because it looks pretty? My son is 10 years old and he's learning it in school so it hasn't gone away completely but I don't see much of a point other than signing your name.

Do whatever works for you.

3. Chunkocaster

Chunkocaster Poster Extraordinaire

I prefer to deal in cash when I can, its getting harder to do though.
    I still receive all bills through the post and decline to provide email address or mobile number when possible.