Partscaster build

Discussion in 'Other T-Types and Partscasters' started by ArtVandelay, Jan 20, 2020.

Tags:
  1. ArtVandelay

ArtVandelay TDPRI Member

Hello everyone,

I am on the process of building a partscaster and I have no prior experience setting up a guitar and I almost got everything to complete the partscaster.

As the first step, I want to fit the neck to the body (not sure if this is a good first step) and I ordered the neck without holes on it. So right now I am just trying to make sure I am doing everything correctly and I wanted to ask a couple of questions before I do something irreversible.

I put the bridge to its place.

IMG_20200120_115752.jpg

I tried to find the "perfect" position for the neck.

IMG_20200120_115737.jpg

My question is how do you guys make sure you align everything perfectly to drill the neck? To me what I did looks "aligned" but how do I make sure of it?

My other question is, what size of drill bit do you use to drill pickguard holes? The bridge that I got has an extra two holes that need to be drilled to be attached to the body. (It looks like those extra two bridge holes and the pickguard holes are the same sizes)

IMG_20200120_115728.jpg

IMG_20200120_115733.jpg

IMG_20200120_115922.jpg

IMG_20200120_115859.jpg

IMG_20200120_115807.jpg

IMG_20200120_115817.jpg

Attached Files:

2. Buzzgrowl

Buzzgrowl Tele-Meister

Looks fine.

Your neck screws need to go through the body without any resistence and any need to screw them through.

Use a forstner drill bit the size of the body holes to mark the positions of the screw holes on the neck while it us clamped on the body.

You need to have drill bits that perfectly match your neck screws. I use calipers to be sure.

I've used normal twist drill bits to make holes in necks, three in successive sizes. I've hand twirled the smallest to establish an entry point.

You need to be very certain you are drilling perfectly vertically into a firmly clamped neck.