Parts for telecaster

Discussion in 'Tele Home Depot' started by Dpalms, Jun 12, 2019.

1. Dpalms

Dpalms TDPRI Member

I posted a thread a week or 2 ago about building my first telecaster, now I am looking to start buying parts for the build.
    What are some good quality parts I can get. I see alot of parts on ebay and Amazon very cheap, but usually cheap means cheap parts. I don't see any point on doing all that work only to put low quality parts in the guitar. Im Not looking for the best parts around, but something decent, I have a mim strat that I'm pretty happy with, what kind of parts are in that guitar? I'm thinking that some thing like that should be good enough for me.

If this topic has already been covered please point me in the right direction.
    Thanks

2. Jim_in_PA

Jim_in_PA Tele-Meister

As a new builder myself, I've put some thought into that question. I chose to go with "not base level hardware", but also not to spend a fortune, either. I chose to buy new that seemed to have good reviews, etc., but folks have often mentioned acquiring used Fender parts from the "big auction site" and other sources and that probably has merit. The challenge might be if they are authentic or not. You might also post in the classifieds here as people who upgraded things might be interested in selling original, serviceable parts.

guitarmoron likes this.
  3. G.Rotten

G.Rotten Tele-Holic

MIM bridges are fairly inexpensive. I prefer the modern feel vs vintage ashtray style (to each their own preference). I bought set of locking tuners off Amazon for $40 CAD all in that I'm very impressed with. Will likely order a couple more sets.

https://www.amazon.ca/gp/product/B07MZWCT83/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_asin_title_o02_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

https://www.amazon.ca/gp/product/B0...392-182d8c1e93fc&pf_rd_r=J2F3EWHQ0PV2XFV99W8X