Out of Phase... question...

Discussion in 'Tele-Technical' started by jkingma, Jul 19, 2019.

1. jkingma

jkingma Super Moderator Staff Member

Admin Post
    I built a guitar a while ago with 4 single coil pickup, each with its own SPST switch, wired in parallel. This allows for about 15 different combinations. A few of them are out of phase and rather weak.

Is there any way to combat this? I'm no electronics expert, but I kind of doubt there's anything that can be done.

2. Lawdawg

Lawdawg Tele-Meister

Maybe I'm missing something (I'm also no electronics expert), but couldn't you just add a phase reversal switch for at least a couple of the pickups.

3. Obelisk

Obelisk Tele-Afflicted

Sometimes having the pickups out of phase is cool when running a tube amp really hard. You can clean up your sound by throwing them out of phase. I do this with my Guild guitars from the 70's that have a phase switch. You would have to show some pictures of the guitar in question to get any suggestions. I believe you can reorient the polarity of a pickup. Is there enough space for more switches? Can you take pickups out of the equation? Is this some homage to Steve Morse? Vague query without more information. A picture of Steve Morse's 4 pickup guitar:

SM.jpg

4. jkingma

Admin Post
    The wiring is pretty basic. Can't be much simpler. As mentioned before, 4 pickups, 4 SPST switches. 1 volume, 1 tone.

all pickups on there own sound great. all combinations of 2 pickups sound great. but when you have any combination of 3, or all 4 it sounds out of phase and weak.

I can live with it, just wondering if there is a simple way to fix this.

056_n.jpg 200_o.jpg

Zepfan likes this.
  5. bmorepunk

bmorepunk TDPRI Member