Original design vs Standard design

Discussion in 'Bad Dog Cafe' started by Mbechmann, Feb 21, 2017.

Original or standard design?

1. Guitarist - Original design

9 vote(s)
    32.1%
  2. Guitarist - Standard design

15 vote(s)
    53.6%
  3. Bassist - Original design

3 vote(s)
    10.7%
  4. Bassist - Standard design

1 vote(s)
    3.6%
  1. Mbechmann

Mbechmann Friend of Leo's Ad Free + Supporter

Not sure if this should be posted here or in the builders forum. But I think posting it here will give a more general feedback.

So here we go:
    I was talking to a friend of mine about the pros and cons about original designed instruments. As a builder, I like to build my own designs. Sometimes its inspired by a standard design like a Tele, Strat or LP. But I really enjoy building something completely new.

Thats when my friend mentioned that that was normal since I was a bass player. Bass players tend to go for the original designs, where guitarist tend to go for standard designs. The more I thought about it, the more it seems like he is correct.

So here is the question. Do you like original designs or standard designs the best + are you mainly a guitarist or a bass player?

2. uriah1

uriah1 Telefied Gold Supporter

I think std design because they are tried and true to me...and I am lazy
    However, that said, I have seen some modern ones that look sort of cool.
    And Yes, bass players have more options.
    modern2.jpg

Toto'sDad, tery and Mbechmann like this.
  3. Stringbanger

Stringbanger Telefied Ad Free Member

I'm a fence sitter when it comes to this question. I like both standard and original. I don't play bass, although I have fooled around on a friend's bass.

Mbechmann likes this.
  4. jvin248

jvin248 Doctor of Teleocity