1. Win a Broadcaster or one of 3 Teles! The annual Supporting Member Giveaway is on. To enter Click Here. To see all the prizes and full details Click Here. To view the thread about the giveaway Click Here.

Ordered boothill 5e3 first build any advise

Discussion in 'Shock Brother's DIY Amps' started by Jason5e3build, Apr 25, 2016.

  1. Jason5e3build

    Jason5e3build TDPRI Member

    Age:
    39
    Posts:
    41
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2016
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Thanks Rob .would just a little space between help
     
  2. robrob

    robrob Poster Extraordinaire Ad Free Member

    Posts:
    8,156
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2012
    Location:
    United States
    Yea, they will radiate heat so any separation will help.
     
  3. Plan9

    Plan9 Tele-Meister

    Posts:
    130
    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2014
    Location:
    Reston, VA
    Aww, man, I was going to be next to start one of these... :)

    Seriously though, I'm curious - why did you elect to diy the chassis? Are you planning some control mods?
     
  4. Jason5e3build

    Jason5e3build TDPRI Member

    Age:
    39
    Posts:
    41
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2016
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    free laser cut stainless steel chassis yes please. My brother programs cnc at sheet metal shop found him blueprint online done.he is making 2 or 3 if any one is interested in a trade. I still haven't bought tubes yet wink wink
     
  5. Jason5e3build

    Jason5e3build TDPRI Member

    Age:
    39
    Posts:
    41
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2016
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Ready for the eagle eyes
     

    Attached Files:

  6. jmmack

    jmmack TDPRI Member

    Age:
    32
    Posts:
    41
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2016
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    looks good. I'll def wire the heater to the side lugs. you can use cutoffs from your caps and resistors to link between the 22uf caps (top left of board) just a double check but you are going to put on the 4.7k resister on the bottom left side of the board right?
     
  7. Jason5e3build

    Jason5e3build TDPRI Member

    Age:
    39
    Posts:
    41
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2016
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Is it the one in the shadow?
     
  8. jmmack

    jmmack TDPRI Member

    Age:
    32
    Posts:
    41
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2016
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    the one to the left. didnt even see the one in the shadow that threw me off.
     
  9. Jason5e3build

    Jason5e3build TDPRI Member

    Age:
    39
    Posts:
    41
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2016
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Chassis bent
     

    Attached Files:

  10. johnnyha

    johnnyha Tele-Afflicted

    Posts:
    1,404
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2013
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Looking good Jason. Hey if you haven't got tubes I just posted this in the other build thread KCA has NOS GE 6v6 tubes with the "Fender" label on them, and for a few extra bucks you can get them matched to 1%. I got all NOS tubes for my build from them. I'm still waiting on my transformers and missing parts getting a bit anxious.
     
  11. Jason5e3build

    Jason5e3build TDPRI Member

    Age:
    39
    Posts:
    41
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2016
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Thanks man I'll check em out
     
  12. mungus

    mungus Tele-Meister

    Posts:
    149
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2014
    Location:
    York
    First and most important: do you understand how to do the safety earth & how to test it?
     
  13. Jason5e3build

    Jason5e3build TDPRI Member

    Age:
    39
    Posts:
    41
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2016
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Ya man I was doing a lot of research and my brother in law is an electrician. I probably spelled that wrong
     
  14. jmmack

    jmmack TDPRI Member

    Age:
    32
    Posts:
    41
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2016
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    Jason the chassis looks good. It's nice to have resources that allowed you to DIY. Is you brother going to weld the sides on?
     
  15. Plan9

    Plan9 Tele-Meister

    Posts:
    130
    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2014
    Location:
    Reston, VA
    For the sake of other future builders - could you elaborate? I believe I know how this should go together, and I would use an ohmmeter to do a continuity check between plug and chassis, but are there other tricks/gotchas to be aware of?
     
  16. mungus

    mungus Tele-Meister

    Posts:
    149
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2014
    Location:
    York
    First point is that the first time building even a simple circuit will seem like quite a complex task. The safety ground can't be just another item to tick off on a long list of tasks some of which you might forget or do badly if you're tired at the end of a long day. It's so important that it has to stand out on its own as a job with which you need to take special care.

    Any time I've done this I've soldered a wire to an attachment which is bolted directly to the chassis. You don't want this to ever come loose (and it's always a good idea to give it a quick once over any time you open up an amp).

    Soldering direct to the chassis is asking for trouble. Large masses of metal always increase the risk of a bad solder joint if they can suck heat away as fast as the iron can supply it.

    To test: insert a fuse in the mains fuse holder and plug in the power cable to the amp (but not the mains...). A continuity test should give you a good ping to the earth pin on the mains plug from anywhere on the chassis.

    We are all capable of making mistakes but you can't afford to make even one mistake with high voltage electricity. It's definitely a good idea to be a little bit obsessive and to self-consciously double and triple-check important parts of the circuit like this. That kind of patient attention to detail is what allows you to manage the risks.
     
  17. Jason5e3build

    Jason5e3build TDPRI Member

    Age:
    39
    Posts:
    41
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2016
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Back of board
     

    Attached Files:

  18. Jason5e3build

    Jason5e3build TDPRI Member

    Age:
    39
    Posts:
    41
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2016
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    And ground bus
     

    Attached Files:

  19. Jason5e3build

    Jason5e3build TDPRI Member

    Age:
    39
    Posts:
    41
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2016
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Add leads from 68k resistors and input Jacks are done I think
     

    Attached Files:

  20. johnnyha

    johnnyha Tele-Afflicted

    Posts:
    1,404
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2013
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    What is the wire you are using for your ground bus? And does it have to go up to the jack or can it go to a dedicated ground screw in the chassis?
     
IMPORTANT: Treat everyone here with respect, no matter how difficult!
No sex, drug, political, religion or hate discussion permitted here.