1. Win a Broadcaster or one of 3 Teles! The annual Supporting Member Giveaway is on. To enter Click Here. To see all the prizes and full details Click Here. To view the thread about the giveaway Click Here.

Optimizing a Tuno-O-Matic bridge

Discussion in 'Other Guitars, other instruments' started by Wallaby, Jan 1, 2020.

1. Wallaby

Wallaby Tele-Afflicted Silver Supporter

I'm new to Tune-O-Matic bridges, and want to check some information.

I've read that TOM bridges are best set up with both thumb-wheels on the same plane, that is at the same height. Also I've read that TOM bridges are not generally of the same radius as the fingerboard.

With that in mind, it would seem that perfecting the radius of new saddle notches is done when slotting the saddles.

With the idea that a TOM bridge is probably arced at a larger radius than the *average* 12" fingerboard on a Gibson, does it make sense to set the bridge height using the center D & G strings and then work the saddles of the outer E & A and B & E strings to the correct depth using appropriately gauged nut files?

Is this all correct, or have I missed important details?

Thanks for your responses!

- John

2. old wrench

old wrench Tele-Afflicted

I've always set my tuna-matics up so I've got the best playable action :).

They always (for me) end up set a bit higher at the low E end compared to the high E end.

Most of the tuna-matics (all of them I've used) are built to a 12" radius, but I'm sure there are exceptions.

You are correct about fine tuning or tweaking the radius via the string notch depth.

Most of my tuna-matic experience comes through Gibson and Epiphone guitars where there was a 12" fret board radius and a 12" bridge radius. Pretty simple ;).

g

Frodebro likes this.
  3. RottenTheCat

RottenTheCat Tele-Holic

Not unheard of to file the saddles to match the fret board radius.

boredguy6060 likes this.
  4. Wallaby

Thanks old wrench and RottenTheCat, I appreciate it.