op amp buffer

Discussion in 'Burnt Fingers DIY Effects' started by poiureza, Apr 22, 2013.

1. poiureza

poiureza Tele-Holic

So I wanted to get my feet wet with op amps and I built this very simple IC buffer from Jack Orman below.

[​IMG]
    http://www.muzique.com/lab/buffers.htm

I used a 9V battery and one side of a TL072 instead of the TL071 here.

Of course things didn't work out as expected :rolleyes:
    I triple checked the few connections and rebuilt the circuit several times with identical results

The buffer should be unity gain but my ears tell me that output is less than half the input and I have a serious treble rolloff. And a lot of noise to boot

I'm completely new to this and thus completely at a loss here.
    The only idea I have is that these op amps normally require Vcc+ and Vcc- on Pin7 and Pin4 while it's +9V and 0V here. So the op amp "ground" would be a floating ground @4.5V (or am I talking nonsense ???) and the output is delivered with respect to this floating ground instead of 0V (I'm not sure my writing makes any sense...).
    I connected all "grounds" toghether (thus Pin4, input jack ground, output jack ground and battery negative lead). Could that be the problem ?

I would greatly appreciate any insight.

PS : I also made the inverting buffer circuit below with similar results. Vr comes from a voltage divider (figure 1 in the muzique.com link where I ommited the cap to ground since it's a battery). I didn't include the 5pF cap.
    Output is slightly higher but still far from unity gain. Treble loss and noise are same as previously

[​IMG]

2. Lostinthe50s

Lostinthe50s Tele-Afflicted

As you suspect, there is no negative swing from the opamp. You need to lift the ground to 4.5v. Use two 1k resistors in series between power pos and neg. "neg" now becomes -4.5v for the chip neg and the junction of the two 1k res becomes ground for all of the rest of the circuit.

3. Jubal81

Jubal81 Tele-Meister