On-Line Music Theory (Specific to Guitar)

StoneH

Tele-Afflicted
Gold Supporter
Has anyone learned to play lead (by ear; no music theory), and sometime later, decided to learn using music theory (practicing scales and such)? Given the advent of dozens of YouTube training videos, has anyone tried one they thought was worthwhile?

Thanks.

SRHmusic

Tele-Afflicted
I played by ear for years but didn't really get some important things until I started playing attention to the chords and how scales relate to them.

A few suggestions for you: First learn about 'harmonizing the major scale,' which is a fancy way to describe figuring out which chords (at least the triads) come from it. This is very important. Then, optionally learn about relative minor scales, and then the blues scale, which shows up a lot.

At that point you can go far by just paying attention to what is happening in songs you like: figure out the chord progression, then what notes are being played over each of the chords. This is what I wish someone had pointed out to me long ago.

You can also try out some TrueFire courses. Jeff McErlain's Chord Tone Soloing course is really good for this.

Last edited:

T-Bone

Tele-Afflicted
Silver Supporter
There really isn’t a music theory “specific to guitar”. It’s the same for every instrument. That being said, the fretboard and the way you tune, IS specific to guitar. So the way forward is to know all the notes on your fretboard. IE/ the name of the notes at each fret under the string.

Then, at least for learning, you need to toss away all your tabbed music, and think about notes as notes, rather than fret positions, and chords as constructed from notes, rather than shapes.

With that out of the way you can personalize your learning using the online videos and resources that make the most sense for the kind of music you like to play.