1. Win a Broadcaster or one of 3 Teles! The annual Supporting Member Giveaway is on. To enter Click Here. To see all the prizes and full details Click Here. To view the thread about the giveaway Click Here.

Old guitar is a tube killer?

Discussion in 'Amp Tech Center' started by turtlevision, Feb 8, 2014.

1. turtlevision

turtlevision TDPRI Member

I've been using a VOX VT15 for several years and it's generally worked fine. In the last few days I've had two 12ax7 preamp tubes go microphonic on me in this unit, which has never happened before. Just before this issue started, I pulled out an old Silvertone Silhouette from the 60s (?) that I hadn't played in years and plugged it in. Since my wife bought this guitar 10 years ago, it's always had inconsistent and woofy output. Could be a number of things and nobody can get to the bottom of it because the stupid pickups are bolted onto the pick guard and are encased in aluminum. We've always expected there were grounding issues with the guitar.My question is: could this guitar be causing the tubes to go microphonic?

Sorry, I just noticed this is in the wrong forum.

2. Jimclarke100

Jimclarke100 Tele-Afflicted

In the Vox Valvetronics series, the valve is used of the main signal path to help in the power stage emulations - there are others around here who know rather more about it than me, but I really don't think the guitar will have that effect.

3. soulman969

soulman969 Telefied Ad Free Member

No, the guitar couldn't cause that. Are you sure the tubes are bad?

4. brookdalebill

brookdalebill Tele Axpert Ad Free Member

Tubes are like car tires, they wear out from use.
    Occasionally other things failing in the circuit will "take them out".
    It's just the price of using them.
    Like all tubes, they sound great, till they don't.
    Kinda' why after an eon or two, I quit using any tube stuff.

5. turtlevision