1. Win a Broadcaster or one of 3 Teles! The annual Supporting Member Giveaway is on. To enter Click Here. To see all the prizes and full details Click Here. To view the thread about the giveaway Click Here.

Nut solutions to intonation problems?

Discussion in 'Tele-Technical' started by Cleantone, Apr 12, 2021.

1. Cleantone

Cleantone TDPRI Member

Hello! I'm new to t-style guitars, and new to the forum. I recently bought a G&L ASAT Classic Special Edition Tribute (Musician's Friend SDOTD, with the Alnico single coils, not MFDs). I intended it to be my project guitar to learn and practice maintenance and upgrades, and am glad I had that mindset going in.

Out of the box, the guitar was unplayable. I honestly don't believe anything was done to set it up at the factory. I'll note the frets do seem quite level with each other, no significant high or low spots. I have followed all the basic setup guidance I have found here and elsewhere. I've adjusted the truss rod and saddles to the common specs and set intonation using open string/12 fret harmonic and fretting at the 12th fret. The action is higher than I want, but the guitar is generally playable. However all strings are sharp when fretted and each to different degrees. It is most noticeable on the low frets (playing open chords), and especially the low E string.

When I compare it to my Strat and Les Paul (both professionally set up), the ASAT nut seems very high, which leads to my questions.
    • Is the problem nut height or slot depth? Which should I try to adjust?
    • Would a higher quality premade nut be set to a proper height, solving the problem for me?
    • What about compensated nuts? How would I know if that is a proper solution vs. just the nut height?
    Thanks for your advice.

Last edited: Apr 12, 2021
    Cosmic Cowboy likes this.
  2. Cleantone

Cleantone TDPRI Member