1. Win a Broadcaster or one of 3 Teles! The annual Supporting Member Giveaway is on. To enter Click Here. To see all the prizes and full details Click Here. To view the thread about the giveaway Click Here.

Nut files, best choice?

Discussion in 'The DIY Tool Shed' started by backalleyblues, Oct 6, 2020.

1. backalleyblues

backalleyblues Friend of Leo's

Howdy All!

I’m looking at getting a set of nut files to have around the house for the occasional nut issue that we have with our guitars (between myself and my wife we have over 20!) Looking at the Stew-Mac files, they look good, but kinda spendy-is there a set out there that will work well for fewer dollars, or should I be applying the “cry once” theory here and get the really good files? I’m not a total amateur with tools and working on guitars, but I’m no old pro either. Any and all advice appreciated!

thanks,
    Franc Robert

don likes this.
  2. SparkleFart

SparkleFart Tele-Meister Silver Supporter

here's an alternative: Hiroshima file, UO-CHIK YU. you can get from various merchants on Amazon -- at least last year, but I don't recall the cost. they have different sized sets. These have worked just fine for me.

files.jpg

Muku, don, That Cal Webway and 4 others like this.
  3. RickyRicardo

RickyRicardo Friend of Leo's

I've used Hosco files and they work just fine.

4. John Nicholas

John Nicholas Friend of Leo's

DavidV likes this.
  5. DavidV

DavidV Tele-Meister

6. beninma

beninma Friend of Leo's

If you have 20 guitars I'd just get the Stewmac ones... they aren't THAT expensive. You're talking the price of one decent pedal to get a comprehensive set that covers everything from 9-42 out to 13-56. And they can pay for themselves in 1-2 setups. With 20 guitars that won't take long unless all your guitars are already perfect.

Just don't get the pre-made sets. If you do that and you're not careful you'll spend a lot more.