NPD - So I've tried a ton of Big Muffs lately, here are my thoughts...

Discussion in 'The Stomp Box' started by OttoCorrect, Sep 16, 2018.

Tags:
  1. OttoCorrect

OttoCorrect Tele-Meister

Hi everybody. This is my first time starting a thread here (I post off and on, though, so I'm not super new) but I figure its about time to let you in on my current pedal addiction. I've been buying, trying, and selling many many variations and clones of various Big Muff versions trying to find the perfect one for me. Here are my thoughts on them all, what I personally paid for them (most if not all have been bought used), and a score from 1 to 10 to serve as a review. Obviously, this is all just my opinion, but if the info helps anyone, so be it.

Everything was played with either a Squier Classic Vibes Tele, a Squier J Mascis JM, and an Agile AL-3200 through a Quilter 101 mini or Quilter 101Reverb through a 1x12" open back cab loaded with a Celestion Rocket.

Way Huge Russian Pickle
    $115
    I had an OG Bubble font Russian Big Muff back in the day, and plugging this in was instant nostalgia. Great harmonically rich fuzz and a not a bad sound in the thing. It has a slight bump in the upper mids compared to my next entry, but if you want the best of what a Russian muff gives you, this checks all the boxes. 9 out of 10.

EHX Green Russian Big Muff Pi Reissue
    $70
    Everything I just said about the Way Huge Russian Pickle is true here too, but with substantially more volume on tap and no upper mids bump. Don't let that fool you though, the Russian Pickle and the EHX Green Russian are nearly indistinguishable when played side by side (as I have done). This still has rich harmonic overtones like a good Big Muff should have, plus a cheaper price tag. If you want to see what the Russian Big Muff fandom is all about, EHX delivered the goods with this one, and the reasonable price only makes it better. 9 out of 10.

Stomp Under Foot Pumpkin Pi
    $100