NPD! Sib CUDA Tube overdrive!

Discussion in 'The Stomp Box' started by dreamingtele, Dec 5, 2019.

1. dreamingtele

dreamingtele Friend of Leo's

[​IMG]

Picked this up today at the post near my office. I cant wait to go home and try it out with my rig and test it out this coming Sunday!

Its not a starved plate design, and it claims to have a 200V current running inside, and actually uses the tube, I really dont know, and cant be sure as Im not an electrical engineer nor a pedal builder, and I know little in electronics.. but I'm more concerned on the tone, and also to test the waters... I dont know whats the fuss about Kingsley pedals, or other tube overdrive pedals, so naturally I got curious, and saw this selling for half the price of a new one, and new ones dont exist anymore.. so yeah..

SweetClyde99 and Fretting out like this.
  2. Fretting out

Fretting out Poster Extraordinaire

I’ve seen pedal designers say that a lot of tube in pedals are useless
    All I know is I have a B.K Butler real tube and it sounds awesome

Let us know how you like it

3. 4pickupguy

4pickupguy Doctor of Teleocity

Congrats!!

4. dreamingtele

it sounds nice. I use it as a second stage drive after my Timmy and it rocks. LOTS of gain on tap, and tone controls, the EQ is tweakable which i like better than the OCD with just one tone knob.

though I miss the headroom and tone of the OCD v2 at 18v, but there’s just something I cant put my finger on why Im not satisfied with it.

with the tube inside the pedal, well, it might be just some gimmicky thing, not really sure. I dont have the knowledge to look at the circuit to do an analysis, but There’s a few peeps on TGP forum that changed the JJ 12AX7 inside to a lower gain one and got great results.

im just glad I got it for a cheap price, than paying for it full retail.

Fretting out likes this.
  5. dreamingtele

yes sir, it sounds like that!