NPD Joyo AC Tone

Discussion in 'The Stomp Box' started by chris m., Feb 21, 2020.

  1. chris m.

    chris m. Poster Extraordinaire

    Posts:
    7,372
    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2003
    Location:
    Santa Barbara, California
    9AB9EF06-DF3F-4A84-AEE5-B22E584FC41C.jpeg Got this today. Tried using it as direct into Scarlett Focusrite into DAW for when I can’t mike an amp. It definitely sounds better than plugging a guitar straight into the Scarlett, but not as good as I had hoped. Miking an amp the old fashioned way sounds better. But for the price I can use it and in a pinch could also go direct to PA if my amp dies.
     
    ping-ping-clicka likes this.
  2. DADGAD

    DADGAD Friend of Leo's

    Posts:
    2,142
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2003
    Location:
    Earth
    Perhaps you need a cab sim pedal between the Joyo and the Scarlet. I tried mine direct to PA and it didn't sound very good. When I added a cab sim DI, it was perfect.
     
    ping-ping-clicka likes this.
  3. chris m.

    chris m. Poster Extraordinaire

    Posts:
    7,372
    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2003
    Location:
    Santa Barbara, California
    Got one you’d recommend? I thought these were designed to straight to PA, but you may be right.
     
  4. VintageSG

    VintageSG Friend of Leo's Ad Free Member

    Posts:
    3,608
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2016
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Everything sounds better with a D.I. I suspect, though have no proof of such, that either tone faeries or impedance matching transformers are responsible.

    Down in the cheap seats is the Behringer Ultra-G D.I. It can use instrument or speaker level as an input and features switchable cab emulation. It's an active type, so requires either phantom power or a PP3 9V battery. The onboard cab sim is quite good through a P.A. and doesn't conflict with the Joyo at all. For recording, you may prefer to use an impulse response.

    D.I. boxen are a useful addition to your tool kit. The Joyo may well sound OK with a short cable run, but help it out with some loads via a D.I. and it can drive damn near everything. Based on the American Sound model.
     
  5. tdoty

    tdoty Tele-Meister

    Posts:
    230
    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    Location:
    Winchester, Tennessee
    Some of the VST cab sims sound pretty darn good too.
     
  6. ping-ping-clicka

    ping-ping-clicka Tele-Afflicted Ad Free Member

    Age:
    71
    Posts:
    1,645
    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2019
    Location:
    left coast
    I bought this digitech rather than some of more expensive units on the market , with a no questions asked return policy , tried it liked it keep it , It goes good. Lots of options money well spent.
    https://www.digitech.com/other/CabD..._CabDryVR_color=Yellow-GLOBAL-Current#start=1
     
  7. tah1962

    tah1962 Tele-Afflicted

    Age:
    57
    Posts:
    1,232
    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2020
    Location:
    Heart of Illinois
    This one has the AC tone with a built in cab simulator. I believe they’re discontinued but you can still find them used on eBay, Reverb, CL, etc.

    We don’t use amps at our church so I picked up the Tech 21 Blonde (Fender BF to Tweed tones). I run it after the drive pedals on my board and straight into the PA. Does it sound as good as a miked amp? No, but it’s the best solution I’ve found so far and our worship leader and sound man think it’s sounds really good in the mix.

    upload_2020-2-22_5-37-3.png

     
    Treehouse likes this.
  8. jvin248

    jvin248 Poster Extraordinaire

    Posts:
    8,695
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2014
    Location:
    Lions & Tigers oh Mi !
    .

    I only have the Joyo American Sound, but from people I've seen that have all three including the British/Marshall, have said the American Sound is the best of the bunch. I don't think you need a cab sim for a cab sim. Keep messing with the knobs as these pedals have a huge range of capable tones.

    .
     
    Treehouse likes this.
  9. Mark the Moose

    Mark the Moose Tele-Holic

    Age:
    45
    Posts:
    728
    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2018
    Location:
    Erie, CO
    I picked up a joyo DI with a cab sim and these amp pedals came to life. Worked well with the American, British, and ACTone.
     
    Treehouse likes this.
  10. Thin white duke

    Thin white duke Tele-Afflicted

    Age:
    45
    Posts:
    1,747
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2017
    Location:
    italy
    I use my American Sound with a H&K Red Box after and then into P.A, i like it more than by itself, with a better d.i. will be even better probably..
     
  11. chris m.

    chris m. Poster Extraordinaire

    Posts:
    7,372
    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2003
    Location:
    Santa Barbara, California
    I knew the Joyo pedals are missing the speaker button that the Tech 21 models have, but I thought the voice knob was the equivalent. Oh well, a cab sim Vsti or hardware solution may be in my future...
     
  12. dswo

    dswo Tele-Holic

    Posts:
    584
    Joined:
    May 1, 2016
    Location:
    East Carolina
    1. The Joyo cab sim is always on. (The Tech 21 button is for switching it on or off.)

    2. The voice knob is equivalent to the Tech 21 character knob.
     
    ackypoo likes this.
  13. Treehouse

    Treehouse Tele-Meister

    Posts:
    102
    Joined:
    May 8, 2019
    Location:
    The Woods
    I think it sounds great direct with a clean tone. And doo doo with drive pedals.


    But man it shines with my 5F2a-ish China special!
     
  14. Thin white duke

    Thin white duke Tele-Afflicted

    Age:
    45
    Posts:
    1,747
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2017
    Location:
    italy
    New version only, not the older...
     
IMPORTANT: Treat everyone here with respect, no matter how difficult!
No sex, drug, political, religion or hate discussion permitted here.


  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.