Not again!! Elpee Standard to replace the one that got away.

Discussion in 'Tele Home Depot' started by Engraver-60, Dec 26, 2018.

1. Engraver-60

Engraver-60 Friend of Leo's

OK - you might remember me, I am the guy that starts builds that never get completed. i.e., MiniStrat Teles for the kids, (http://www.tdpri.com/threads/cad-files-for-necks-for-mandocaster.140308/) that are languishing in the garage after some 8 years or so.
    '
    But with the kindness of fellow TDPRIers (Adirondak5, Guitarbuilder, etc.) and the fact I sold my 2001 LP Std GT to pay some bills, and the fact I've been hoarding guitar wood for 14 years, I am going to start a build thread for the LP that got away.

Backstory: In 1976 or so, I decided I needed a Gibson, because I had traded off my '69 SG Standard , '63 sunburst Strat, Echoplex, and Wah-Wah pedal for a 1976 Martin D35. Dumb me - I kept amplifiers, but had not electric guitar to play through them. I was born and grew up in Motown, so I scoured the classifieds until I found an odd LP for $175. It was a Goldtop, but the neck was unseated (luckily hide glue breaks clean upon impact - somebody had stumbled against the LP leaning against a Twin Reverb at a gig). Being a lapidary and jeweler, I reset (glued) the neck with Hughes Labs Epoxy 330 - perfectly. Well the bridge pickup coil had been caught and broken by the high E string. I took the guitar to a place the seller recommended - Pyramid Guitars on Grand River, in Detroit. They replaced the pickup with a pretty hot dual rails Pyramid, did a coil tapping on the neck, and added a mini toggle to split the coils, between the volume knobs. Later when I moved to Nashville TN I met Joe Glaser (then not too famous luthier), and he installed another mini toggle between the tone knobs to get that out of phase sound of a Strat (think "Bell Bottom Blues").