1. Win a Broadcaster or one of 3 Teles! The annual Supporting Member Giveaway is on. To enter Click Here. To see all the prizes and full details Click Here. To view the thread about the giveaway Click Here.

Nostalgia buys

Discussion in 'Bad Dog Cafe' started by naveed211, Nov 3, 2020.

1. naveed211

naveed211 Tele-Afflicted

You guys ever buy stuff based off nostalgia?

I saw a Line 6 Flextone III came available locally and I’m tempted to buy it for no other reason than it was the first expensive (at the time) amp I bought when I graduated high school when they were brand new. It was a big deal for me at the time.

Honestly, I don’t even remember it sounding all that good, though I’d bet I could dial in a better tone nowadays. It’d be a total nostalgia purchase, and I probably won’t, but I gave it some thought.

2. electrichead

electrichead Tele-Meister

Sometimes its worth it as you say just for the good feeling's it brings you..
    Also like a good movie from way back once you try and watch it again its just not the same..

Greggorios likes this.
  3. Twang Deluxe

Twang Deluxe Tele-Holic

I never bought a piece of gear because if nostalgia, because I kept most of the gear from my early years

4. JL_LI

JL_LI Friend of Leo's

My Gretsch Anniversary and my Gibson SG. I wanted both of them back in the '60s when I was in high school. Both were out of my price range and the idea of owning two guitars? Who'd have thought that could be possible.

kingofdogs1950, Greggorios and elihu like this.
  5. Tele-beeb

Tele-beeb Friend of Leo's

I’ve been watching for a late 70’s Cortez Bass (natural) as a reminder of my friend who played bass when we were teens.

SecretSquirrel likes this.
  6. joe_cpwe

joe_cpwe Tele-Holic

yeah...last week I bought an '84 MIJ Kramer Focus 3000...bought my first '84 Kramer brand new, in high school.