non compensated saddles accuracy

Discussion in 'Tele-Technical' started by golfnut, Feb 12, 2018.

1. golfnut

golfnut Friend of Leo's

Has anyone ever just left the Fender stock 3 barrel saddles on there Telecaster\Nocaster and had dead on intonation?
    I'm just curious. I have a friends Masterbuilt Nocaster heavy relic at my house for a few weeks. I was comparing the intonation on it to my telecaster with Rutters saddles. The Masterbuilt with the stock fender saddles is dead on just as accurate as my Rutters, if not a little better.
    Just wondering if this is common or if its something to do with the Masterbuilt quality.
    I may be buying a CS Nocaster and if the stock saddles are going to give me good intonation I'll just leave them

2. boris bubbanov

boris bubbanov Tele Axpert Ad Free Member

I've got a 2006 Custom Shop No-caster (NOS style) and with 11s it has always intonated very well with the stock saddles. 10 years. But I put straight saddles on fairly similar guitars and I don't consistently get the same result. There are some artful guys who can get them to work quite often, but I have fewer straight saddles in use on Telecasters than I used to and a third of those have a wound G string and most of the rest use 12-54 string sets. The lower the fretwire height, and the larger the string guage (normal spread), the more likely at least some of the saddles can be straights. I will also mix straights and compensateds at will, to get the best result and I'll change back and forth if need be. Finally, for my own use I make some barrel saddles with half an amount of slant. I'm liking that more.

3. Dacious

Dacious Poster Extraordinaire