Noise? Did you say noise? Or Hummmmm

Discussion in 'The Stomp Box' started by Pickingthru, Apr 29, 2020.

1. Pickingthru

Pickingthru TDPRI Member Silver Supporter

Help. I'm a stomp box pedal newb. The coronavirus has taken it's toll on my sanity and credit card balance.

Bought some pedals, a pedal board, and a True Tone 1 Spot Combo to power it.

Pedals in order of appearance in to out.

KLIQ Tiny Tune
    MXR Phase 90
    Boss BD-2
    Mosky B-Box
    Ditto

Except for the KLIQ and Ditto, they all make humming noise when daisy chained (correct term I think) with the 1 Spot Combo. Using the same power supply, they hum a tune if plugged individually. Also, turned off LED lights with dimmer switches and unplugged TV. No change in noise level.

I think it's my choice of power supply. Remember I'm a newb and afflicted with the "I've been home too long blues".

Are they out of order? Or is it, as I suspect, primarily the power supply? Can anyone recommend better power supply that should correct my above white noise humming?

tah1962 likes this.
  2. tah1962

tah1962 Friend of Leo's

What kind of guitar cable, and patch cables are you using?

3. Pickingthru

Guitar Cables

GLS Audio 10 Foot Guitar Instrument Cable - 1/4 Inch TS to 1/4 Inch TS 10-FT

Livewire Advantage Series 1/4" Straight Instrument Cable 10 Foot (Guitar Center suggestion)

Patch Cords

D’Addario PW-CGTP-305 Classic Series Patch Cable – Right Angle 1/4” Plugs

I will note that using the pedal battery power has not generated noise.

tah1962 likes this.
  4. tah1962

tah1962 Friend of Leo's

Have you tried running your pedals in a different order, specifically the MXR Phase 90 after your overdrive pedals? If that doesn’t help, try running your tuner and only one of the other pedals after it. Keep switching pedals out until you can determine which one it creating the most noise.

Also, how much gain are you using on your drive pedals? The more gain you use, the more noise will hear in your signal chain.