Nobels Guitar Studio: strange power supply?

Discussion in 'Modeling Amps, Plugins and Apps' started by braveheart, Jan 29, 2020.

  1. braveheart

    braveheart Tele-Holic

    Posts:
    718
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2018
    Location:
    here,there and everywhere
    [​IMG][​IMG]

    just pulled the trigger on this Nobels Def Leppard "hysteria" in a box device from the late 80s.
    It doesn't come with the power supply...
    I don't understand the +6,6/-6,6 V ....can I use a normal 6V and how do I wire the plug?

    "Finally, we modified the dual power supply with very simple means, so that instead of +/- 6 volts delivered now +/- 6.6 volts. After all, a total of 1.2 volts more headroom!" (from Nobels website)
     
  2. blowtorch

    blowtorch Telefied Ad Free Member

    Posts:
    28,468
    Joined:
    May 2, 2003
    Location:
    Wisco
    Too bad it's not Def Lepp "High N' Dry" in a box
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Jan 29, 2020
  3. braveheart

    braveheart Tele-Holic

    Posts:
    718
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2018
    Location:
    here,there and everywhere
    sorry, I forgot...it's h&d,pyromania and hysteria in a box..
     
  4. blowtorch

    blowtorch Telefied Ad Free Member

    Posts:
    28,468
    Joined:
    May 2, 2003
    Location:
    Wisco
    The first two sound good, can you bypass the third? :)

    Sorry, don't mean to hijack, and I don't know about your power supply question

    Cool unit
     
  5. jamesepowell

    jamesepowell Tele-Meister

    Posts:
    272
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2019
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    It is too bad. I'm sure it will bring on some heartache.
     
    blowtorch likes this.
  6. blowtorch

    blowtorch Telefied Ad Free Member

    Posts:
    28,468
    Joined:
    May 2, 2003
    Location:
    Wisco
    Let it Go, man
     
  7. warrent

    warrent Friend of Leo's

    Posts:
    3,039
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Location:
    toronto
    From the power supply picture it shows a trs plug (I'm not sure if it's 2.5 or 3.5 mm) wired as +6.6v to the tip, -6.6v to the ring and the sleeve is ground.
    I would say no on a regular power supply. It uses batteries as well I thought so maybe just use some rechargeables or carbon zinc if you're Eric Johnson.
     
    braveheart likes this.
  8. codamedia

    codamedia Friend of Leo's

    Posts:
    4,972
    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Location:
    Western Canada
    That is the power supply design used in the Scholz ROCKMAN. It's a 6v "bi-polar" power supply!

    NO, you cannot use a regular 6v supply. If you were really good with electronics, you could tap a 12v power supply and include a regulator to stabilize both sides, but you need to know what you are doing to build one of those.

    IMO... if it has a battery option, just use batteries!
    Those power supplies are very difficult to find and expensive when you do find them.
     
    braveheart likes this.
  9. braveheart

    braveheart Tele-Holic

    Posts:
    718
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2018
    Location:
    here,there and everywhere
    yes, rechargeables (8AAx1,5V) could be the easiest option...but perhaps I could use two 12V outputs (one -/one+) of a pedalboard power supply ...
     
  10. braveheart

    braveheart Tele-Holic

    Posts:
    718
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2018
    Location:
    here,there and everywhere
    the third is the best...I should "pour some sugar on you" and you will agree....
     
  11. braveheart

    braveheart Tele-Holic

    Posts:
    718
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2018
    Location:
    here,there and everywhere
    "bi-polar" power supply was the magic word,thanks...now know what I have to look for...
     
    codamedia likes this.
  12. braveheart

    braveheart Tele-Holic

    Posts:
    718
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2018
    Location:
    here,there and everywhere

    This "Rockman" guy has the same problem with his x100

    https://www.aguitarforum.com/threads/power-supply-for-rockman.79015/
     
  13. codamedia

    codamedia Friend of Leo's

    Posts:
    4,972
    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Location:
    Western Canada
    NO... Not two x 12 volts.... two x 6 volts! Each side of the required supply is only 6v... one is positive, the other negative.

    I've been down this path when I found my old Rockman in a box. 2 x 6 volt supplies work (one wired straight, the other wired negative) but it it is very hard to balance the two. When they are not balanced they are noisy! It is very hard to balance two power supplies without an adjustable voltage regulator as I mentioned earlier.

    Here is a BASIC bi-polar design that uses a 12v supply. I am only including this so you can see the "simplest of methods"... but trust me, it won't work because it is too noisy. What happens is when one side pulls power it steals it from the other side creating the imbalance. There are much more advanced schematics than this that that use regulators, but I really didn't want to put in that much time.

    Simple AC Virtual Ground Circuit.png

    When trying to piece up a power supply.... make sure you "Check, Double Check & Triple Check" voltages before plugging it into the unit ;)
     
    Last edited: Jan 30, 2020
  14. codamedia

    codamedia Friend of Leo's

    Posts:
    4,972
    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Location:
    Western Canada
    Just for the sake of clarity on my position :D

    IMO... A nice set of Lithium Rechargeable AA's will give you more than enough playing time and will be more cost effective than finding an NOS supply, or building one of your own. I've only provided the general info above in case you really want to start down that rabbit hole.
     
    warrent likes this.
  15. braveheart

    braveheart Tele-Holic

    Posts:
    718
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2018
    Location:
    here,there and everywhere
    thanks,sorry...of course 6V....if I use rechargeable batteries (8 AA) that have 1,2V, would that be enough volts to power the device? I mean, 8x1,2V=9,6V
     
  16. codamedia

    codamedia Friend of Leo's

    Posts:
    4,972
    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Location:
    Western Canada
    I used to run my rockman from lithium rechargeable and they worked fine... about 8 hours of playing time IIRC.
    I can't say the Nobels would be the same.... but with the same style power supply I think it should be.
     
    braveheart likes this.
  17. braveheart

    braveheart Tele-Holic

    Posts:
    718
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2018
    Location:
    here,there and everywhere
    great,do you still use/love? your Rockman..."for sentimental reasons" ?
     
  18. braveheart

    braveheart Tele-Holic

    Posts:
    718
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2018
    Location:
    here,there and everywhere


    and the first version of my Nobels
     
  19. codamedia

    codamedia Friend of Leo's

    Posts:
    4,972
    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Location:
    Western Canada
    I had found it many years after packing it away... It still sounded good, but no - I eventually put it up for sale.
    It wasn't something I would put back into regular use and with me if something doesn't have a job, it gets sold/traded off.
     
  20. braveheart

    braveheart Tele-Holic

    Posts:
    718
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2018
    Location:
    here,there and everywhere
    do you remember how much volt they had (single)?
     
IMPORTANT: Treat everyone here with respect, no matter how difficult!
No sex, drug, political, religion or hate discussion permitted here.


  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.