No sound from bridge pickup

Discussion in 'Just Pickups' started by nallenanderson, Sep 21, 2018.

Tags:
  1. nallenanderson

    nallenanderson TDPRI Member

    Age:
    37
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2018
    Location:
    Santiago, Chile
    Hi all,

    I'm a bit of a newbie to electrical mods, but wanted to try my hand at installing a 4-way switch on my MIM Tele. I'm okay with soldering and was able to make all the connections as expected (as well as removing the pickup case wire and adding a new ground cable).

    However, now that I've hooked it up, I am only getting the neck pickup. Nothing from the bridge.

    I've tested the pickup separately and it is outputs at ~5.9oHms.

    Any advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!
     
  2. samuelmorrissey

    samuelmorrissey Tele-Meister

    Age:
    29
    Posts:
    175
    Joined:
    May 12, 2017
    Location:
    Dublin, Ireland, Earth
    Where exactly did you check the bridge pickup? What's the wiring setup? HH / SS? 1 vol / 1 tone? 2 vol / 2 tone or other?

    Check the switch too just in case the wire came loose or if its a dead connection or if its even wired up correctly. The easy thing with wiring is that sound is the resulting product. So, if there's no sound, there's something wrong along the way.

    Check the pots are all connected up in the right way too!

    If you can, sketch out a quick schematic of your wiring plan and I'm sure someone else on here can chime in and what might be wrong. I don't have any experience with 4 way switches, but done my fair share of 3 way and it's usually something simple!
     
    nallenanderson likes this.
  3. nallenanderson

    nallenanderson TDPRI Member

    Age:
    37
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2018
    Location:
    Santiago, Chile
    This is the wiring diagram that I followed. I tested the single-coil bridge pickup using a digital multimeter and connecting the hot lead and ground to the multimeter's probes.

    I'll recheck all of the lugs on the switch. Thanks for the advice!
     

    Attached Files:

  4. samuelmorrissey

    samuelmorrissey Tele-Meister

    Age:
    29
    Posts:
    175
    Joined:
    May 12, 2017
    Location:
    Dublin, Ireland, Earth
    Like I said, I don't have much experience with 4-ways (pun intended :twisted:) but looks ok!

    I think if you ran the reading on the pickup alone it'd show up on the multimeter, so maybe try run it through the whole circuit across each wire individually when the pickup is wired and you should be able to pin-point where the issue is

    Best of luck!
     
  5. Rob DiStefano

    Rob DiStefano Doctor of Teleocity Vendor Member

    Age:
    75
    Posts:
    10,360
    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2003
    Location:
    Swampland
    first, make sure the pickups are good.

    then, try this circuit ...

    Tele 4-way switch hookup FINAL.jpg
     
IMPORTANT: Treat everyone here with respect, no matter how difficult!
No sex, drug, political, religion or hate discussion permitted here.