No-load mod your guitar/bass tone or blender pot (2014)

Discussion in 'Tele-Technical' started by Rob DiStefano, Feb 23, 2014.

  1. Rob DiStefano

    Rob DiStefano Doctor of Teleocity Vendor Member

    Age:
    74
    Posts:
    10,093
    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2003
    Location:
    NJ via TX
    it's that little 1/8" strip between the copper and carbon that's been scraped away ... i put a red dot on that scraped strip.

    [​IMG]
     
  2. 73Fender

    73Fender Friend of Leo's

    Posts:
    3,598
    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010
    Location:
    Jersey Shore
    It's been a few weeks, not positive about what lugs, but there are only 3 so process of elimination will get you a reading (middle and one of the ends if memory serves). Set the meter to k ohms and rotate the arm, you'll see it. You can test your meter..hold the two probes together should be 0 ohms, apart is infinite ohms (overload / OL on a Fluke meter).

    EDIT: Hey Rob, love the Fat Lion, thanks.
     
  3. Rob DiStefano

    Rob DiStefano Doctor of Teleocity Vendor Member

    Age:
    74
    Posts:
    10,093
    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2003
    Location:
    NJ via TX
    just go back to page 1 of this thread and follow the sequence of images ... mirror what yer doing with yer pot with each of the images, one at a time. it all works too easy, promise!
     
  4. chainsaw

    chainsaw Tele-Meister

    Posts:
    133
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2014
    Location:
    Texas
    You can buy those no load pots for under 10 bucks. Save a lot of time and frustration.
     
  5. Rob DiStefano

    Rob DiStefano Doctor of Teleocity Vendor Member

    Age:
    74
    Posts:
    10,093
    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2003
    Location:
    NJ via TX
    "save time and frustration"? really? you see this as that difficult a pot mod? yikes! guess not everyone can make this mod happen, sorry.
     
  6. bender66

    bender66 Poster Extraordinaire

    Posts:
    7,226
    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Location:
    on my bike
    I hear you Rob. You've been beyond helpful. I can't seem to get a reading with my cheapo meter that tells me anything different from an un-modded pot of the exact same. The mod is very easy, IMO, & I got the pots for well under $10.

    The iron is hot & I'm heading to the bench.
     
  7. Rob DiStefano

    Rob DiStefano Doctor of Teleocity Vendor Member

    Age:
    74
    Posts:
    10,093
    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2003
    Location:
    NJ via TX
    probably best if i do a quick video, hopefully post it here today. :cool:
     
  8. Rob DiStefano

    Rob DiStefano Doctor of Teleocity Vendor Member

    Age:
    74
    Posts:
    10,093
    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2003
    Location:
    NJ via TX
    the no-load pot mod video ... you might wanna view it larger within youtube.

     
    gkterry likes this.
  9. tapollok

    tapollok Tele-Holic

    Age:
    56
    Posts:
    703
    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2010
    Location:
    pgh pa usa
    Rob - great ideas....great explanation....great vid.

    I was gonna order a pre-wired Mojotone Strat Blender harness....then I decided I'd just order a Fralin-branded blender pot...

    If you say there is nothing special about a blender pot other than the fact that it should be a no-load...I'll try this.

    I don't care about a few bucks...I just wanna get my feet in a little deeper.

    Thanks for this!

    Tom
     
  10. Rob DiStefano

    Rob DiStefano Doctor of Teleocity Vendor Member

    Age:
    74
    Posts:
    10,093
    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2003
    Location:
    NJ via TX
    functionally, all no-loads do the same thing. a commercial no-load pot might have a detent, so you can feel it snap in and deliver maximum resistance, thats something i can do without.
     
  11. tapollok

    tapollok Tele-Holic

    Age:
    56
    Posts:
    703
    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2010
    Location:
    pgh pa usa
    Thanks Rob!

    After I get this Strat to my liking....I've got two spectacular alder Tele bodies custom made for me by RogerC....a fellow member here.

    I'm gonna change the pickup routs and try some Cavaliers in them...with three pups and blenders.

    Talk soon.

    Cheers,
    Tom
     
  12. Manolete

    Manolete Friend of Leo's

    Posts:
    2,041
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2011
    Location:
    Here
    Slightly off topic, but I've sometimes taken pots apart to clean them. If you follow Rob's detailed instructions, you can clean up the carbon track with an eraser or similar and get good results. I don't like contact cleaner as they tend to make a dirt soup, and when the solvents evaporate the muck is left behind. Contact cleaner doesn't magic away the dirt, but a careful demolition job does work. You may wish to vary how you clean up the track.
     
  13. Davo17

    Davo17 Friend of Leo's

    Posts:
    2,433
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011
    Location:
    Southern California
    Very cool idea, thanks.
     
  14. Teleterr

    Teleterr Friend of Leo's

    Posts:
    4,683
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011
    Location:
    Lewes De.
    I use 500K pots w singles. When the no-load fad hit I did a switch to negate the tone. 0 difference. The loading must be at the 250K level. I believe folks are hearing a difference, but bigger pots will negate it. Also w bigger pots you can dial in the best load for the p-up which is usually more than the standard 250K circuits.
     
  15. hopdybob

    hopdybob Tele-Afflicted

    Posts:
    1,325
    Joined:
    May 28, 2008
    Location:
    netherlands
    i did that with some pots of some older amps and most of them turned out good. but some have some kind of damage that can't be cleaned
     
  16. hopdybob

    hopdybob Tele-Afflicted

    Posts:
    1,325
    Joined:
    May 28, 2008
    Location:
    netherlands
    still happy with this mod i used on one of my guitars, somehow the tonepot gets more credit and used.

    i have a 2 pickups guitar, humbucker bridge L500XL, single coil noiseless neck L280
    1 vol, 1 no load tone pot with the help off this topic

    wiring with 4 way N>N+B>B>N+B series and a miniswitch that can
    serie/parallel the humbucker so it still stays noiseless in semi single coil parallel sound.
    thank you Rob:D
     
IMPORTANT: Treat everyone here with respect, no matter how difficult!
No sex, drug, political, religion or hate discussion permitted here.


  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.