Nirvana Appreciation Thread

Discussion in 'Music to Your Ears' started by ElJay370, Sep 5, 2019.

1. ElJay370

ElJay370 Tele-Holic

Came across an old flash drive with some of my music blog writings from a few years ago....

My parents got divorced shortly after I graduated high school. This sudden but not unprecedented turn of events resulted in my mother plunging deep into the throes of a full blown midlife crisis. So in the fall of 1988 she packed her things, gave the finger to the whole world, and ran off to live in Los Angeles. Not having much of anything to hang around for, and attracted by the sun and sand, I decided to tag along with her.

I felt very alone and isolated in my new environment, and went on a desperate search for some new friends. Being that I already looked like kind of a dirthead, I easily fell in with a group of long haired headbangers. A typical evening for us usually consisted of punishing our cerebral cortexes with beer and various other illicit substances, listening to the loudest, fastest, most aggressive music we could find, and launching ourselves off of the furniture into a howling pile of drunken testosterone. Speed and thrash metal weren't really my thing. I leaned more towards prog rock and spaced-out hippie jams. But being a young budding guitar player, I was at least able to appreciate the musicianship and commitment to authenticity. And maybe I did have a little bit of adolescent rage left in me. Plus, I'd found a crowd where I was liked and accepted. So I put away my Moody Blues records, threw my tie dyed t-shirts in the garbage, and got into the pit.