NGD x2 ~ Woo Hoo!

Discussion in 'Other Guitars, other instruments' started by DHart, Sep 16, 2019.

1. DHart

DHart Friend of Leo's

Gretsch content ahead...

I'm new to the Gretsch family. I've been a guitarist since the mid 1960's, but for some reason Gretsch guitars never caught my interest.

A short while back I took note of how much crisper the tones were that I was getting from the Fender Fideli'trons in my Cabronita Thinline, vs. my humbucker equipped guitars. I had grown quite thrilled with Fender single coil pickups, their rich sparkle and detailed tones. And along with that had become less pleased with the somewhat "veiled" tones, in comparison, that I was getting from PAF-type humbuckers.

The Fideli'trons are humbuckers in design (dual coils cancelling the hum), but clearer and more sparkly... leaning more toward single-coil tones. That intrigued me, and led to my interest in Gretsch guitars (because of the pickups!)

Anyway, I spent a lot of time researching, YouTubing, asking questions here and there. Ultimately, I decided that I wanted a Gretsch hollow body and a Gretsch center block body.

I have had the hollow body for a few days, but part-two of the pair arrived just today.

G6119T Players Edition Tennessee Rose (Terada MIJ) hollow body - Dark Cherry finish
    [​IMG]

G5622T Electromatic (Korea) Center Block - dark walnut finish
    [​IMG]

I am very fortunate to have had and to have a nice assortment of good guitars. So, my reference points to evaluate these Gretsches are numerous and set a pretty high bar.

All I can say is that I am BEYOND impressed with these two instruments. I was pretty ignorant of Gretsch guitars for many, many years... but once I "understood"... I got here as quickly as I could! :)