NGD. Ventura V10 acoustic. Smaller 00 / concert body. Steel strings

Discussion in 'Acoustic Heaven' started by GreenMagicMan, Jul 12, 2019.

1. GreenMagicMan

GreenMagicMan TDPRI Member

I forgot it was coming until Fedex showed up at my door!
    This is the only guitar I've bought sight unseen and only did so based on the Ventura (Japan vintage) reputation which seems to be quite good for a modestly priced old guitar.

Had to do a little repair on it. One of the tuners was completely jammed. As I disassembled it, I THEN noticed that someone had strung the guitar wrong on the bass (upper) side.

The low E string was jamming into the A string - completely stopping it dead. Should have noticed that before - but I am a beginner after all. I also did notice the tuners seemed to go in wrong direction...

Anyway, ran the strings properly and reassembled the tuner and I could now operate the tuners correctly!
    So this is my theory on why someone dumped it at Goodwill. That, and ancient crusty strings and missing high E string.

So I need to get strings for this. Never replaced acoustic strings before. Suggestions?? Martins? Elixir nanowebs? Something else?

This is almost certainly 1968 - 1970 built guitar. Built in Japan. I love these old Japanese guitars. The sound to my basically untrained ear sounds beautiful now, even with the horrible strings.
    I had to read up on it, but basically this smaller Martin '00' size or 'concert' or 'folk' sizing is less bass-y / woof-y than a full dreadnaught but could be more delicate and nuanced on the middle register than a dreadnaught size.

I think the top is solid wood. I have put a bright light in there and a small mechanic's mirror and the grain seems to go all the way around and through. X Bracing inside with to my eye a curious mesh / cloth piece glued over the closest to sound hole X Brace.