Newby requesting help please

Discussion in 'Tele Home Depot' started by Picslo, Apr 17, 2009.

1. Picslo

Picslo TDPRI Member

Hi, having dipped into this forum a few times and enjoyed the excellent threads-friendly advice - etc.. I have decided to have a go at a partscaster after seeing and being inspired with a thread about a Lake Placid Tele build (Nick88).
    I am a total novice- the only thing I've managed to do to re. guitar repairs is to replace the neck and tone pot on my Tokai Tele.
    My question though is about bridge saddles. I have a wilkinson compensated bridge to use. When positioned on the body, (cheap MIC- prob inaccurately routed) to gain the scale length of 25 1/2", it means I have to adjust the saddles back a long way, almost to the limit of the springs being fully compressed. Is it OK to do this? The adjustment screws are long but should they be adjusted so much or will this cause some kind of problem with intonation?
    The only other option I can see would be to move the bridge back about 1/4" but this would mean filling in the existing bridge cavity and rerouting:(
    Any info/ advice would be much appreciated as I don't want to start hacking without good cause.
    Cheers

2. Jack Wells

Jack Wells Doctor of Teleocity Ad Free Member

A few questions:

Is this a top loader or string through? If string through, what is the distance between neck pocket and string through holes?

What is the distance between the neck pocket and the bridge pickup cavity.?

You could always cut the springs shorter or remove themcompletely if required to intonate the guitar.

3. Picslo

Picslo TDPRI Member

Hi, Thanks for getting back!
    I'm planning to make it a string through -holes aren't there yet but the distance is Neck pocket to holes for string through in bridge -7 3/4" ( 197mm) and the distance neck pocket to bridge cavity is 4 5/8" (118mm).

4. Jack Wells