Newbie on DIY Amps - 5F1

Discussion in 'Shock Brother's DIY Amps' started by Scottsgarage, May 16, 2021.

Tags:
  1. Scottsgarage

Scottsgarage Tele-Meister

I started a thread on the Glowing Tube forum where I ordered a Mojotone 5F1 kit in March, and as I am sure you all know supply chain issues with electronics (in this case the xformer) - I did get it impressively packaged and all recently and so now I embark on building it. On the other thread I got great advice and indeed have been cross checking with the Stewmac assembly instructions and RobRob's site to get started.
    I will say I will take 4x the estimated hrs to get this done, but that is part of it for me.
    It is a tight assembly. And I am not following the order of the Mojotone assembly instructions explicitly.
    And you TDPRI community are fabulous so you know.

So now do you have to wait for power to be able to check if the xformers are ok? I am a newbie so don't be harsh. Can I ring them out with my multi meter?

And it is challenging for me to get all the components and wires on the board and for them to stay there. I have been using masking tape, I mean the components are ok but all those wires in the large holes will move and fall out. Will get there. .. pic attached I have the card IMG_3372.JPG board layout but mojotone's real size diagram that came is really good.
    And I wanted to add the 25uF cathode bypass cap on the 12AX7 but the kit only came with one of those, so I will build without. I went to the local electronics store here in Santa Cruz and while they had some stock of basic components they did not have that value I was told not standard - was it more standard in the past?

drew1d and JohnnyCrash like this.
  2. J. Bonkosky

J. Bonkosky Tele-Holic Silver Supporter