1. Win a Broadcaster or one of 3 Teles! The annual Supporting Member Giveaway is on. To enter Click Here. To see all the prizes and full details Click Here. To view the thread about the giveaway Click Here.

Newbie here with dumb questions about pawn shop find

Discussion in 'Telecaster Discussion Forum' started by AceTrestle, Mar 1, 2021.

1. AceTrestle

AceTrestle TDPRI Member Silver Supporter

I bought an old Tele at a pawn shop yesterday, and while trying to figure out what I had, discovered this forum. I hoped that by joining, I might learn even more.

The pawn shop said the guitar belonged to an old gentleman who pawned it just before he died. It appears never really to have been played, as there is essentially no fret wear, and only one small nick in the finish on the back of the neck, which likely happened at the pawn shop, where it was tossed into a rack with a bunch of other guitars.

However, 50 years of sitting in the case with tension on the strings left the neck with some up-bow. I removed the neck and tightened the rod 3/4 of a turn, with good results. Now, there's just over a business card's worth of space between the strings and the frets when the string is fretted at the first and 21st frets, and string height at the 21st fret is around 3/16th of an inch. The intonation improved a lot, though it's not yet perfect.

Using neck code info from this forum (thank you!) I dated the neck to Dec. 2, 1974. The F Plate serial number info on Fender's site dates the guitar itself to 1975 or 1976. Which brings me to my first question:

Did Fender offer a neck humbucker of this vintage, other than on the Thinline? Or is the humbucker a user modification?

I have read that Keith Richards popularized this mod around that time, but I am puzzled why it would have been done on a guitar that was never really played. The presence of Allen keys in the case might be a clue... do Teles have any Allen keys? Or do humbuckers, for that matter?