Newbie 5f1 Build

Discussion in 'Shock Brother's DIY Amps' started by MD57, Apr 3, 2018.

Tags:
  1. MD57

    MD57 TDPRI Member

    Age:
    62
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2018
    Location:
    Huntley, IL
    New to the forum and to Amp building. I have recapped some old Hi-Fis and 70's receivers but this is new. I have attached a pic of the board for comments/build validation. Kit is from Boothill.
    5f1 board.jpg

    Thanks

    Mike
     
  2. corliss1

    corliss1 Friend of Leo's Platinum Supporter

    Posts:
    3,298
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Location:
    Lansing, MI
    Any way you can get more space between that 470 ohm cathode resistor and the caps on the left and right? Maybe raise it up? That sucker will get hot and you don't want to cook the caps too much.
     
    flyswatter likes this.
  3. MD57

    MD57 TDPRI Member

    Age:
    62
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2018
    Location:
    Huntley, IL
    Corliss1,
    Thanks for the post, is this enough space or should I resolder? Everything else look ok so far?
     

    Attached Files:

  4. corliss1

    corliss1 Friend of Leo's Platinum Supporter

    Posts:
    3,298
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Location:
    Lansing, MI
    I'm okay with that :D. I'm sure other people will tell you it needs to be a few feet over to one side or something crazy, but that's good.

    Everything else looks fine when compared to the layout, but I'm sure others will jump in as well to take a look!
     
  5. hackworth1

    hackworth1 Friend of Leo's Vendor Member

    Posts:
    3,578
    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2009
    Location:
    Volusia County, Florida
    Looks good. Time to install your wire leads.

    There are videos on my site that you may find helpful.
     
  6. jimgchord

    jimgchord Tele-Holic

    Age:
    46
    Posts:
    982
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2018
    Location:
    victor,ny
    Looks alright. My advice would be to practice your soldering and I find it better to install the wires first, wrapping them around the turret, soldering, and then installing the components into the holes in the tops of the turrets.makes any changes or future repairs much easier.
     
    Last edited: Apr 5, 2018
    kleydejong and flyswatter like this.
  7. corliss1

    corliss1 Friend of Leo's Platinum Supporter

    Posts:
    3,298
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Location:
    Lansing, MI
    Yup - resistors around the turret. Caps, especially electrolytic, through the holes.
     
  8. flyswatter

    flyswatter Friend of Leo's

    Posts:
    3,311
    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2013
    Location:
    Quebec
    +1, components in the holes. That also naturally creates extra distance between the bias resistor and filter cap, by elevating the resistor and shifting it to the right.
     
  9. MD57

    MD57 TDPRI Member

    Age:
    62
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2018
    Location:
    Huntley, IL
    How do I tell which one of the connections on the pot is the ground? Also, I think I am almost ready to solder the tube sockets
     

    Attached Files:

  10. jimgchord

    jimgchord Tele-Holic

    Age:
    46
    Posts:
    982
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2018
    Location:
    victor,ny
    A traditional fender layout would have that black wire from the coupling cap connected to the right lug of the pot
     
  11. MD57

    MD57 TDPRI Member

    Age:
    62
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2018
    Location:
    Huntley, IL
    Finished soldering all of the components. tested with a current limiter before putting the tubes in. The rectifier heats up and puts out the correct voltage but the 6v6 heaters are not glowing and i get no sound. The PT is putting out 5v. I find the information on how to number the octal tube sockets very confusing but have gone over it a dozen times. Pic of the socket attached.

    This is what I was going by: Octal sockets:
    Looking at the socket from the lug side, #1 lug is the one to the left of the keyway slot.
    #8 is to the right.

    Any help would be appreciated
     

    Attached Files:

  12. hackworth1

    hackworth1 Friend of Leo's Vendor Member

    Posts:
    3,578
    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2009
    Location:
    Volusia County, Florida
    Looks like the socket wiring on the power tube heater circuit at pin 2 and pin 7 is correct.

    More pictures with the amp turned the opposite direction will help. Take a photo of each tube socket which shows the leads coming from the board.

    Offhand, it looks like you do not have your power tube's cathode resistor at pin 8 connected.
     
    D'tar likes this.
  13. corliss1

    corliss1 Friend of Leo's Platinum Supporter

    Posts:
    3,298
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Location:
    Lansing, MI
    Is the indicator light working properly?
     
  14. clintj

    clintj Friend of Leo's

    Posts:
    4,919
    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2015
    Location:
    Idaho
    That 8 pin socket doesn't look right. Looking at it from inside the chassis, with the keyway at 12 o'clock, the pins are numbered clockwise starting to the right of the key.

    Edit: connect the shorting contact tab (center) to the ground tab on your speaker jack. That shorting contact is an important safeguard that prevents damage if the amp is powered up with no speaker. Post several more pics too, please. There's already two errors seen, a peer review of the whole amp would be a very good idea. Suggested shots are the whole chassis from an angle, showing the board and sockets etc, and detail shots of each socket and pot, jack, and such.

    I'd attach one of my pics, but something is not playing nice on my end.
     
    Last edited: May 11, 2018
  15. clintj

    clintj Friend of Leo's

    Posts:
    4,919
    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2015
    Location:
    Idaho
    Ok, there we go. IMG_20180511_175205.jpeg
     
  16. D'tar

    D'tar Friend of Leo's

    Posts:
    2,133
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2013
    Location:
    WNY
    I dont see cathode connection to the bias resistor on the 6v6... Revisit the wiring on your sockets. Screenshot_2018-05-11-20-00-43.png
     
  17. D'tar

    D'tar Friend of Leo's

    Posts:
    2,133
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2013
    Location:
    WNY
    Its on pin6 not pin 8

    Screenshot_2018-05-11-20-07-49.png
     
  18. jimgchord

    jimgchord Tele-Holic

    Age:
    46
    Posts:
    982
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2018
    Location:
    victor,ny
    Out of curiosity, what output transformer are you using?
     
  19. jimgchord

    jimgchord Tele-Holic

    Age:
    46
    Posts:
    982
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2018
    Location:
    victor,ny
    There should be nothing connected to pin 6 on a 6v6 .it doesn't connect to anything in the tube.
     
  20. D'tar

    D'tar Friend of Leo's

    Posts:
    2,133
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2013
    Location:
    WNY
    Yep, its on pin 6 now

    It needs moved to pin 8
     
IMPORTANT: Treat everyone here with respect, no matter how difficult!
No sex, drug, political, religion or hate discussion permitted here.


  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.